Root Beer Float Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
The cake turned out pretty crumbly. I live at 4500 feet, so I probably should have used the cake mix high-altitude directions (didn't think about it until it was baking). I added 1.5 tsp root beer concentrate, which did give it a root beer flavor, and I used the cool whip/pudding mix frosting, which was alright. Given the crumbliness of the cake, I would have actually preferred a more substantial buttercream or sour cream frosting. Overall it was a Fathers' Day root beer-themed-meal success, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
My kids request this for their birthday cakes! I followed others advice - used 2 t. root beer extract in the cake (in addition to the root beer) and I used 1 container Cool Whip vanilla frosting, thawed, and used a whisk to whip 2 t. root beer extract into it (no root beer pop). Word of caution - the root beer extract adds a strong root beer flavor, which our family likes - you may want to start with 1 t. and adjust as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This was a hit! Very unique - we all loved it! I did make a few changes. I'm not a fan of cake mixes, so I used my own white cake recipe. I also added root beer extract to boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Only reason it doesn't get a full 5 stars is the cake definitely needs the root beer extract to get the full root beer effect (1 1/2 tsp). I used root beer soda base that we happened to have on hand from trying to make homemade root beer. Bought at a homebrew/wine store. This is a very moist cake and does best baked and kept in a cake pan or cupcakes. I tried to use this recipe by doubling for the Wilton giant cupcake pan and while it came out of the pan fine, the cake was so soft that it literally fell apart, it could not hold the form. Just a tip for anyone else considering the same thing. I'd definitely try this cake again but use their tips to make it into more of a pound cake. We did eat the pieces though and it was awesome all the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is a quick recipe but I was looking for something more. I tweaked the recipe by adding 2tsp. of Rootbeer Concentrate. I think a vanilla buttercream frosting will work with my 2nd attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
It has some rootbeer flavor in it, but only if you know its there. Still, they are delicious and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllisonMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very good but will try root beer flavoring next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Very good! I added 1-1/2 teaspoons root beer extract to the cake batter and opted to use a buttercream frosting instead of the whipped topping. Made into cupcakes and everyone loved them. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I made this for a Labor Day cook out. It was amazing! Super moist!!!! I did add the Root Beer Concentrate to the cake( 1 1/2 tsp root beer concentrate added) and cool whip topping (1 tub cool whip, French vanilla instant pudding, 1 cup milk, 1/2 tsp root beer concentrate, and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract) that I made. I crushed up root beer barrel candies and left in a dish on the side as an optional topper. The kids liked the additional topping! It taste just like a root beer float. My daughter is requesting this for her Birthday with the additional topping. For her Party I think I will put the cool whip topping in the center of the cup cake and add a chocolate ganache to it and then add a cut straw to each to make it seem more like a float.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gena Kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I was so excited to try this for my mother-in-law's birthday and was SO disappointed. Not only did the cake not have much root beer flavor (my grocery store does not carry root beer extract), the frosting was a total FLOP. I tried to fix the frosting, but once I got it to the point of being able to sort of scoop it onto the cupcakes, all the root beer flavor was gone. HUGE disappointment. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States