Root Beer Float Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This is just yummy. I served it as coffee cake on a recent trail ride. Good reviews by all. So easy to make. Another review said they had trouble finding an 18.25 oz mix. I just used whatever size I had on hand and replaced the water with root beer and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Was very tasty. I did add a box of vanilla pudding mix to keep it extra moist. The root beer flavor was more subtle than I had thought it would be. I will try a craft root beer next time to see if that helps make the root beer more prominent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark & Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Really good. I used 2 tsp rootbeer concentrate in the cake and 1 tsp in the glaze. I thought the amount of glaze was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This cake is moist and delicious if adjustments are made. After reading previous reviews, I made the following changes/additions: 1. I added 1 tsp. root beer flavoring/extract to both the batter and the glaze; 2. I doubled the glaze mixture and increased the confectioner's sugar amount so it would be a bit thicker; 3. After the cake was completely cooled, I poured half of the glaze into the bundt pan then place the cake back in the pan after poking holes in the top with a wooden skewer; I pressed and swirled it so the cake would absorb the glaze; I then let it set in the bundt pan for 15 min., after which time, I flipped the imbibed cake onto a rack and spooned the rest of the glaze over the top. I let the glaze drip/dry completely then dusted it with confectioner's sugar before cutting. Great root beer flavor without being overpowering. I will make this again and be sure to have vanilla ice cream on hand to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I was looking forward to eating delicious Rootbeer cake. I added concentrate, doubled the glaze and let the cake soak in glaze in the pan as others have advised. But the cake was heavy and tasteless. Later I discovered my error. A standard cake mix at my grocery store is 14 ounces. The recipe calls for an 18.25 ounce mix. Amazon carries this size. (The star rating only reflects my experience. The recipe may be excellent.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This cake is awesome, I am not a big root beer fan, but my family is so I thought what a treat. And it was delicious. I added a little extra powdered sugar to the 3 TBSP of root beer so that the glaze was a little more thick...I made it as directed without the root beer extract (gosh hard to find). I added just a little more oil since bundt cakes can be heavy and dry. I use Joy Bakers spray and my cakes never, ever stick! This is such a treat of a cake!!! Thank you and keep the recipes coming!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
taste very much like root beer. Added the additional rootbeer flavoring and it was a hit! Super moist and rises well in bundt pan.....I didn't experience any falling which often happens with soda pop cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This turned out great for me. Was looking for a way to use up some old root beer and this caught my eye because it was so easy. My family couldn't guess it was root beer, so if you are looking for a real strong root beer favor look elsewhere. But, everyone did like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Excellent as written, I doubled the glaze and used 1/2 on top and 1/2 on bottom and it was still excellent.....scrumptious with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Very easy to make, moist and flavorful. I have made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States