Root Beer Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2000
Wonderful flavor and got a six cookies please from Mr. two or three cookies. The instructions should have the sugar and but ter creamed in the beginning for kids. This one will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
I thought the cookies were way too sweet. I make root beer cakes all the time, and hoped the cookies would be similar. I did not like these at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
My root beer loving family adored these. They were nice and soft and had a great flavor. I would suggest doubling this recipe if you're serving more than four people. I think I'll try them this summer and make ice cream sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
i'll keep the frosting recipe, but i'll use it on something other than these cookies. the bater was so cakelike i tested just one cookie in the oven and it turned out too doughy on top. so i added 1/4 cup flour and put it in the refrigerator for a while which made it easier to handle. also, wait to add the extract into the frosting until after you've mixed the oher ingredients together. (and soften the butter by the way) save yourself from the extra work of beatig out root beer glumps. i also waited to add the frosting to the cookies until they'd cooled that way the frosting didn't melt off the cookie. overall they had a nice taste, but they were a little too hard to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
These cookies where so good! But i could not make the topping very good, can some one let me know how to do it?! It came out in chunks of sugar not a good toping! Thanx for some help for who ever lets me know! Well made these so meny more times and they are great without the glaze. My family loves them & same with our childs friends. Always bine asked to keep making more. My stars for this recipe have changed concidering the cookies are so easy to make and I add more rootbeer to these instead of a little. I add about 3 tbsp of rootbeer syrup because i can't find the extract any where. YUMMY thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
These were very tasty! Somehow they reminded me of a gingersnap, but without the "snap" - I think it's the texture, which was fairly dense, and all of the brown sugar. Definitely root-beer-y and a lot of fun. The one quibble I have was with the "glaze." It tasted fine, but there's no way that anything with that much butter in it is going to act like a "glaze." Basically, it's root-beer-flavored powdered-sugar icing, and it acts like it. It doesn't soak into the cookies; it just sits on top. Tasty, but not quite what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
These were a hit. I doubled the cookie recipe and kept the frosting as a single, and there was still lots left over. Friends had fun guessing the root beer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These were very unique. I love the cakey consistency of these and the frosting is very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Just ok - the flavor was good, definitely identifiable as root beer, and the fact this is a butter based cookie is noticeable as well. Other than that, however, I can't rave about these. The batter doesn't need the buttermilk at all, so I left it out. I chilled the dough for well over an hour yet the cookies flattened more than I would have liked. The amount of "glaze" seemed like a lot, and also seemed as though it would be too heavy, too much like a frosting, for this soft, flat, cookie. So I just mixed up a glaze with the ingredients without measuring until I came up with something of drizzling consistency. I'm glad I thought ahead and bought some candy root beer barrels which I crushed and sprinkled over the glazed cookies. These definitely needed the "prettying up." This was a uniquely flavored cookie but I didn't care for the texture. My thinking is that there is too much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Let me start off by saying I have a major sweet tooth. I made these cookies exactly as the recipe said, and they tasted so.. blah. Almost like a really subtle root beer flavored biscuit. So I added extra root beer extract and they were still just okay. I was hoping these would have been sweeter or just more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States