Roomali Roti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
To make the rotis soft try cooking them turning the following way. The first flip right after you place them on the pan aprox 5-6 secs. Now cook this side for about 1 minute or until soft brown spots on the bottom. Now last flip for the roti to rise up a bit and its ready. I love them every time i have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
We really enjoyed these. Found it a bit difficult to roll thinly, and I was surprised by how crispy they were. The roti at our favourite restaurant is soft and pliable. Does anyone have a suggestion on how I might make these so they come out soft?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Fantastic! Great bread recipe- I cooked it on a crepe skillet on high heat, and noticed that if you flip it one extra time, the bread puffs up and fills with hot air- it's great! It turned out like pita bread. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I cooked it in a regular pan and flipped it when it started to puff up and it turned out wonderful and soft. Would love to find the right spices to add to it to flavor it up a little. Will also try the half white half wheat suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
My whole family loves this bread! Good made with all white or half white/half wheat flour. I cook it on a very hot non-stick griddle. Make sure you roll out the dough as thin as possible! Great with spicy Indian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This is my # 1 favorite recipe from this site! I have made this many, many times for my 3 year old. He says, "Make some rollie, please, Momma." Thanks for posting this great, easy, and wonderful tasting recipe! (Reminds me of a tortilla, we eat it with butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
not like the rotli i get from my gujarati best friend. this recipe came out way too dry and hard, and i made it various times with different mixes of flours and various amounts of liquid. won't repeat for indian foods, but it's not bad for a tortilla recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Good...folded these to use as a sort of soft taco with chili for filling. You can't roll these up, they'd break (too stiff). Nice and chewy and it added to the meal, more filling than a tortilla or taco shell would have been. I cooked them right in the pan like you'd cook anything else, rather than flipping the pan over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I added boiling hot water. This made the roti softer & more moist. They are now a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Great! Comparable to the roti in indian restaurants! I used white flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURSEONALITY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States