Roomali Roti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Very good recipe! I used all whole wheat flour, which turned out great. I added 1 tsp garlic powder to the dough, and after rolling it out, I brushed both sides with extra oil and then spread curry powder and some extra garlic powder and salt on one side. Flipped it after 5-6 sec and then cooked it for 1 min on the other side, then flipped it over again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Wong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This is a wonderful basic roti recipe. If you want them softer, make sure you put them under a towel as soon as it comes off of the pan. Or you can use those tortillia container plastic thingys and your roti will be softer. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVES_POOKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Fantastic. My husband was very impressed. I did the extra flip and they fluffed up nicely. I also cheated because i didn't have time to let them rise... (I hadn't read the instruction properly and hadn't left myself enough time.) i figured it was too late to give up, so i just went ahead and cooked them anyways, and they were just fine! =) thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These yummy little bread cakes make a great (and cheap) party offering. Serve them alongside beans or grilled veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Godless Liberal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was great I just tried it and it came out as good as the ones my Guyanese friends make. I brushed a little margarine on my pan before I put on the roti and then as I finished each one I wrapped it in foil so they kept warm and very soft. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karibbean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
To me these were too bland and dense, too much like a tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
hmm. i haven't tried it yet but looking at it and analyzing the recipe, it's not like the roti that i eat in restaurants. theirs are usually more flakey, i saw this video on the travel channel that they folded and rolled the dough in a whole lot of ghee. i assumed it was the reason why it was so flakey, tender and moist in restaurants. kind of like the concept of making croissants-- you fold it over and over with butter.. anyway, i'll try this recipe in addition to that folding in ghee or oil step. thanks. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericaa.

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I was really suprised by the flavor and texture of this bread. It's really good! I cut the recipe in half because there were only 2 of us. Thanks for a great recipe, I will be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I'm not sure if these turned out the way they were supposed to or not, but we liked them. I followed other reviewers and added some garlic, but otherwise they didn't have a lot of flavour. As they cooked, I put each one in a paper towel lined dish with a lid. I also brushed them lightly with butter. They turned out nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States