Room 157 Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
My batch didn't come out very well. The dough was crumbily and the cookies cracked in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michaela Loveless
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
If you're looking for simple, whole wheat cookies these are perfect! I think it depends on the type of whole wheat flour you use. I use King Arthur's brand and they were delicious. Of course if you are using whole wheat flour they are going to taste like you used whole wheat flour. I had all this stuff handy to just whip up a batch which is exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela Loveless

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I was looking for a quick recipe and this fit the bill! I made a sheet of large cookies, and I love the texture. The edge was slightly crisp and the rest of the cookie was soft/chewy - that's just what I wanted! The only change I did was to use 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and you'd never be able to tell with the finished result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Whole wheat is supposed to make it taste HEARTY, not like playdough! Ewww! I have grown up on whole wheat, but yuck! And I don't blame you, BAKERCOLLEGEBAKER because of you comment about the folks in the test kitchen changing it. If you DO decide to chance this recipe, add about 3 tbs of melted butter into the oil, and DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES cook longer than the recipe says, even if they seem underdone. also, adding a little honey would go along way toward making it edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.H. Wiggle;P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
These are really good for a whole wheat flour cookie! I rolled them in cinnamon and suger, baked mine for a minute or two longer though, my kids loved them, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imcrystal1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Even though this recipe previously got bad reviews I thought I'd try it because I wondered if people just weren't used to the taste of whole wheat flour...but I did not care for these. Too much flour, the cookies were tough and didn't soften or cook up well at all. Good with coffee if you're looking for something of simply munchy substance though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Trapped inside in "Snowmageddon" (a huge MN blizzard) I needed something to do, and with no butter and limited groceries on hand, i found this recipe! Minor changes i made were white flour (didnt have the wheat) and coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and coconut extract instead of vanilla! YUM!!! The dough itself was worth five stars, and once baked, a little dry, but good with coffee on a cold snowy day! Thanks for the recipe! i WILL make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creative_cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eden Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Not bad for a butterless, shortening-less cookie. It certainly satisfied my after-dinner cookie craving and my daughter liked them okay. Not the best cookie I've ever tasted, but definitely not horrible. The whole wheat is not over powering either. I would make it again but probably only a half batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
WOW! Why did this get bad reviews?!?! This is my go-to recipe from now on!!!!! FYI - the dough looks very oily, but do not worry!! I have been looking for a good no-butter cookie recipe and this is IT! Slightly crispy, a little fluffy. I actually made a batch with reg flour and a batch with whole wheat. Both are terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
We did not have a good experience with these cookies. We used whole white wheat flour, which should give them more of a white flour cookie flavor. They weren't totally inedible, but they tasted salty or like there was too much baking powder. We thought we made a mistake and tried again, but it was still not good. We used small scoops and it was not nearly enough time to cook the cookie through. I'd keep looking for another recipe. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States