Ron's Bread Machine White Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly twice and failed both times :-( and the bread is super salty but that could be because it didn't raise or anything. And yes I was sure to separate the salt and yeast from one another and yes the yeast is fresh. It just didn't work for me. Off to find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Connellsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
We make bread all the time, but our kids won't use it for sandwiches (which they eat every day). Until we found THIS bread -- which does the trick! It holds together without crumbling and can be sliced thin enough for a sandwich. Not to mention it tastes great. We only put the egg whites in (we eliminate the yolks to cuts down on fat and cholesterol) and it works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Ron, you are a baking god! This is the absolute best bread machine recipe I've ever found (I don't create recipes, thus my moniker, but I collect wonderful recipes). We made this with minor alterations (due to lacking funds and exact ingredients), including using one medium egg instead of an extra large, and using all purpose flour throughout, but I truly doubt that they changed it much from the original. It was so light, yet chewy...and the crust was perfect. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
One word: AMAZING! This bread was light and fluffy, but 'sticky' enough for sandwiches. This is my new white bread recipe. I will probably use this til the end of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khali

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This bread is wonderful... the kids gobbled up the entire loaf when they got home from school today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This turned out wonderful... I didn't have bread flour, so I subed in whole wheat because that's what I had on hand. Great texture and crust... I made mine on the dough cycle and baked it in the oven @ 375 for 20 minutes (I don't like the square shape of my bread machine pan). I agree with other reviewers that it does need more sugar and I'd like to see it taller so I'll be experimenting with this recipe to see if I can get a bigger (taller) loaf. Thanks, Ron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This bread is awesome toasted. I do have another white bread recipe I like better for fresh homemade taste. But this one will be saved and used for toast !! Delicious with eggs or BLT's...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I have been trying to find a white bread recipe for my bread maker that was as light and spongy as a store bought sandwich loaf, without all the unnatural preservatives inherent in store bought bread. This is it! This loaf rose to an impressive height, while not being too tall. It is light without being too airy. It is spongy without being like glue. I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. I now finally have my default white loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Oh my!! My first real review!! Got a new machine, lost the booklet with recipes that came with...went online, found Ron's white recipe...it's THE best 'home made' bread I've ever had...EVER. The crust (not one of my favorite things) was phenomenal. I didn't even stick to the recipe! I made a few small blunders, but it still came out superb!! I will let you know that I heated the water/milk a bit in the microwave, added the yeast and (honey instead of the sugar), the salt and whisked it well, then added the egg and whisked some more! I put all of that in the machine, then added my flour!! I used ALL PURPOSE (didn't have bread flour) and turned on the machine....it was THAT easy!! Thank you Ron...on to some fruit bread next!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I thought this bread had an excellent taste, texture, and lightness. My husband thought it was dry, but I was very pleased with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States