Ronaldo's Beef Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I made this in the crockpot and it turned out fabulous! I doubled the chile peppers and seasonings, wrapped the whole works in foil and cooked it in the crockpot for 8 hours on low. After the 8 hours was up I removed the foil package, dumped all the liquid into a bowl and skimmed the fat off the top and then shredded the meat and put it back into the crockpot with a small amount of the defatted liquid and cooked it for an additional 30 minutes or so. I served the shredded meat on warm flour tortillas with shredded monterey jack and cheddar cheese, sour cream and salsa. I made some Zatarain's Spanish Rice to serve on the side - it goes really good with this, especially if you add a can of diced tomatoes w/ peppers to the rice while it is cooking - and you could also put a little bit of the rice in the tortilla along with the meat if you wanted to - that's how my hubbie ate his! This was REALLY GOOD and I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Very Good. I made this in the Crock-pot, twice. The first time I just added 1/2 cup of water and doubled the spices. It was good. The second time, I added a can of beef broth, tripled the spices and added 3 chopped jalapenos. It was great. Served it with fresh tortillas with all the fixings, cheese, guacamole, onions, cilantro and beans. With my Oval crock-pot I turned the meat several times. I used frozen roast so the last couple of hours I turned it on high. Thanks for the great recipe. I will be using it many times!(Crock pot time approx 10 hours with frozen roast.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Best mexican meat recipe I have tried - and we love Mex food!!! I've tried it a few ways, my favorite is to rub it down and throw it in the crock pot before I go to bed. (no foil, no added liquid necessary) I cook it on low 15 -20 hours. Stick a big fork in there and stir it all around, it falls to pieces. Then let it simmer in its own juices for a bit and - wahlah, dinner is served. THANK YOU for this staple to our dinner rotation!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
I tried these in a slow-cooker instead of the oven and they were FABULOUS!!! My husband always orders carnitas at our favorite Mexican restaurant, and he said that these blow everything else he's had out of the water! THANKS, Miss Annie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
I have modified this to my own liking after several tries in the oven. I found this is best cooked in the crock pot. I double the recipe and prepare it the same way, but put it in the crock pot with some water (to keep it from drying out). Also, I have found that a tri-tip roast turns out the best. Leftovers are great the next morning with scrambled eggs, salsa and flour tortillas (that is if you have any leftovers)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Fantastic, versatile recipe. I use this as a filling for enchiladas and burritos. I also make this recipe using chicken in place of the beef when I make pollo fundido. Pork also works equally well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This turned out great. Although I used chopped jalapenos, as a substitute for the green chilis, becasue I had none at the moment. I added a few more shakes of all the spices, and probably cooked it about 30 - 45 minutes longer. After the initial cooking was complete, I shredded the meat effortlessly, removed the foil, put the meat into the juices, and cooked it for about 45 more minutes in the oven, occasionally stirring the meat around so it would all get 'juiced'. After that, I ate them on some homeade, fresh flour tortillas. It needed nothing extra. The flavor was wondeful. Since my wife is not a big fan of beef, I had about a weeks worth of leftovers, and they tasted better the older they were. Thanks Ronaldo! Great stuff! You should post more recipes. I'd try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I made this recipe in the crockpot. You should anticipate longer than 4.5 hours cooking time as mine took around 6-7 hours. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zenminded1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
It was to bland, so I added (2) cans green chili's (1)tbls. oregano, (1) tbls. cumin, Pepper to taste, chopped up 4-5 jalapeno's and added a little of the juice from the jar. It was real good. Also had some left over roast and made burrito's the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
This was good, but a little bland for our taste, so I lightly oiled one side of flour tortillas, filled with the beef mixture added some grated pepper jack cheese, folded Chimichangas style, and grilled on my griddle, pressing them 'flat', topped with salsa and sour cream. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States