Romesco Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
So I hardly ever take the time to write a review, but this recipe deserves it. Delicious! I took the advice of other reviewers (thank you, everyone) and reduced the vinegar to 2 T. and the oil to 1/3 cup. I also used about 3/4 tsp. of salt. I was using CSA tomatoes (which were not romas) so estimated with 4 good-sized sized ones. I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seneca, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I have been cooking for 40 years or more and have never run across a recipe for this sauce. And, I read cookbooks in my spare time! Where has this recipe been all my life? I can think of a hundred things to use this for, not the least of which is just a spread for vegetables or crackers. I followed the recipe exactly, as I always do for the first time making something. I didn't think it was too vinegary, but I like vinegar. I made it this morning and having it as an appetizer tonight with crackers. I can't keep eating it! It makes a lot, but I'm planning to put it over pasta for dinner tomorrow. It would make a very good "pizza" sauce on crostini's with some chopped up olives, pepperoni or onions with some cheese on top and broiled. This is a very versatile sauce. I'll be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This sauce is just okay. After cutting the vinegar in half, I still found the vinegar taste too obvious. Perhaps I just don't expect a tomato based sauce to taste vinegary. Used it as a spread on toasted baguette and as a spaghetti sauce but both just tasted a little strange. Not really bad but it just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is excellent and very easy to make. I do advice cutting the vinegar in half as others have suggested -- then add as needed to taste. I found 1/2 teaspoon of salt sufficient. I also used Rosemary sourdough bread to add to the flavor (as opposed to plain bread). I also reduced the oil to 1/4 cup, which seemed more than enough. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. This sauce is thick enough to use as a dip, thin enough to use as a sauce for pasta or vegetables, and I believe it would work as a sandwich spread as well. Very versatile, and I look forward to attempting some variations. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This made alot. I used some the night I made it as a sauce for some grilled veggies, then throughout the week on baked potatoes, a omelet, as a sandwich/burger spread. Very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This was so simple to make and it's delicious. There's really nothing else to say. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
We had romesco sauce at our wedding and I wanted to replicate our meal. I tried this recipe and while it wasn't bad it just didn't have the same flavor I was looking for. I followed the recipe as written. The garlic was really strong. I'm not sure I would do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I made this because it was on the recipe group list from the past. I didn't know exactly what to expect, taste or color wise. However, the color came out a Thousand Island dressing orange nearly. I followed the recipe exactly except I had to use some white wine vinegar with the red wine vinegar as I was a little short. I don't think it should have affected the color or flavor that much. I expected the flavor of this to be amazing. Not one tasty ingredient didn't go into it except the AMOUNT OF VINEGAR IS A LOT! I wish now I would have read the first review and went slow with it like I originally was considering. I think I would have been happy with half the amount. I ended up adding a little more olive oil to try to cut through and it did help. Start with half and then add more as needed unless you are trying to make red pepper vinegar sauce. I am going to try this on something mild to see if it blends well. Tomato sauce isn't amazing on its own either. The recipe also makes a lot! So, I would not only add the vinegar to taste but I would scale it down if you don't need 3 plus cups of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
A-MAZZZIINNGGG!!!!!!!!!!!! Even used it as a base for the sunset tomato soup and added to guacamole. If you aren't a vinegar fan I would cut back a little and not use 1/2C. I was skeptical of the bread, but it gave it the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I cannot believe I have never heard of or had this before! It is to die for! We are definitely hooked. I did reduce the vinegar and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHJANE13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States