Romantic Chicken with Artichokes and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This was delicious, but after sautéing the chicken which I had cut up into chunks instead of leaving as whole breasts, I sautéed half an onion and two chopped garlic cloves for a few minutes before adding the artichokes and mushrooms and a little crushed red pepper flakes. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and served over butter and herbed egg noodles. (PS, I drained the capers). Will definitely make again (and may add sliced up brussel sprouts next time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Not bad. Will try it again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was delicious! I changed things according to what was available in my kitchen & number of guests. I tripled the recipe but still used just 1 cup of wine. I subbed thighs for breasts & used portobello mushrooms & about 1/2 teaspoon herbs de Provence in the sauté. My artichokes were in brine vs. marinade so I skipped that part of adding the liquid from the artichokes. At the end I loaded up the pot w/ cracked black pepper & the zest of one lemon. There was a ton of broth, perfect amount actually. I served it over potato gnocchi and garnished it w/ shaved Parmesan. My husband had THREE helpings & my picky 6 year old asked if I would make it again ;) Next time I make this, I will put the artichokes in at the end. They were a bit beat up & visually unappealing so, adding them in last minute might make a better presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Love this recipe. I have made my alterations, as well as adding the suggestions of others. The herbs de provence & garlic are great additions. One major change I have made is instead of chicken I make this recipe with scallops. It is exquisite. An additional healthy choice for good protein is I pour this over quinoa. My husband will make special requests for me to make this. He even asked me to make this for a colleague's family because the colleague had been in the hospital. I later heard all about how the colleague bragged about the meal I prepared from the others that he worked with. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I have made this recipe a few times; Originally a book club friend made it for a holiday dinner. It's really good the way it is. Have made it with chicken on the bone too. Just remember is takes longer to saute before adding the other ingredients. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Just made this and it was delish! I did add some diced red peppers for color and flavor. If you are not a fan of wine sauces , you can substitute chicken broth, or cut the wine in half and fill in liquid measurement w/broth. My husband and I are trying to eat less carbs, so I served it over Miracle Noodles and it was fantastic. This one is in the recipe box for sure !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodLovie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
The recipe is fairly easy. I listened to other reviewers and dredged the chicken in flour with salt and pepper, and added herbs de Provence to the cooking mushrooms and artichokes. I sprinkled Wondra to thicken the sauce some and simmered on low-medium heat, but the sauce was still quite thin. I probably could have added more Wondra. I served it with noodles and steamed cauliflower. It was good, and I would make it again. My husband is not a fan of acidic flavors and did not like the artichoke marinade. Next time I might substitute chicken broth for that portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I could eat this every day! I've made this probably 6 or 7 times now and I always serve it over wild rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I've made this many times before- it used to be a staple in our household! I gave it a rest for about a year, until last night. I've stopped eating meat, so I left the chicken out of this- I used 1 lb of mushrooms, 2 10-oz jars of artichokes (with about 1/2 the reserved liquid from one), 3/4 cup white wine, and the capers. A little flour to thicken the sauce, then Served over linguine. DELISH as a vegetarian dish! As for many who said the flavor is too tart- maybe it depends on the brand of marinated artichokes that you use- I've never had that problem. I've also thrown in some Italian dressing when I've accidentally bought plain artichokes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SammyG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Added garlic and heavy cream. A little too "watery" but tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States