Romantic Chicken with Artichokes and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I loved this recipe. I have made it with the marinated artichokes and fresh baby artichokes, both ways are delish!. We live only a few miles from the "Artichoke Capitol of the World" Castroville, CA and have access to fresh artichokes year round (lucky us!)If you like artichokes, you'll love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbsBerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Capitola, California, USA
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I used only 1 tbsp. of olive oil and left out the butter. I added some lemon juice and some chicken soup mix with water instead of the wine. I left out the capers. I used 1 samll jar of marinated artichoke hearts and a bag of frozen artichoke hearts (because that is what I had on hand). I would recommend using only marinated artichoke hearts - as they are softed and more tender than the frozen one. If you do use the frozen one - you should cook them a bit - to soften them up and so they can absorb some of the flavor of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Oh soooo good. Used canned artichokes, not marinated, added more garlic, 1/2 cup chicken broth mixed with 1 teaspoon corn starch and 2 or 3 tablespoons of sliced sundried tomatoes (not in oil). Served it over mini penne. Incredible dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I thought this was pretty good! Most of my family liked it, but they didn't rave about it like they did the Camembert Chicken that I made earlier this week. I did what a few others did--I dredged the chicken in flour and various seasonings, threw minced garlic in the butter and oil, and then fried the breasts. After taking the breasts out of the pan, I threw a bit of wine in the pan and scraped up the brown bits. Then I cooked the mushrooms, onion and artichokes. After they were tender, I then added the artichoke liquid (from non-marinated artichokes) and some wine. I didn't measure, but I didn't use near as much liquid as the recipe said. The liquid thickened right up because of the browned bits of flour. I thought it was a great way to dress up chicken! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was very good and simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Very, very good. I made a few alterations to the recipe, added herbs de provence and salt to the cubed chicken. I used the Trader Joe's marinated artichoke hearts that come in a jar which seem to be less oily than the kind you buy in the store and the sauce was excellent and didn't need any lemon. I also added cornstrach and half and half to thicken the sauce. Served over Pappardelle pasta and it was excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I followed advice of another allrecipes' cook and sautéed tomatoes, garlic, onion, mushrooms, and artichoke hearts in white wine. Then, added spices, lemon, and lime juices before adding the chicken. Because of the tomatoes, the sauce was a bit runny. So, I added a couple of tablespoons of flour. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I tried this recipe with the addition of heavy cream as one of the reviews suggested. I think I preferred it the original way. The artichokes were fantastic! Everyone liked it, and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kg2943

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was delicious--I added much more garlic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I'm giving this four stars because I think without the additions I made, it would have been too bland. I started by sauteeing onion and garlic in the olive oil and butter, then added some sage and thyme. I browned the chicken, then while that was cooking, added the mushrooms, frozen artichokes (from Trader Joes), and halved grape tomatoes. I used lemon white cooking wine, a splash of lemon juice, and a splash of soy sauce. As it was finishing up, I added the capers, a bit of garlic salt to bring out the flavors and about a tablespoon of corn starch to thicken the sauce. My husband thought it would be good with some olives in the mix, too. Overall with these modifications, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States