Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Very good and easy. Took to a family gathering and it was a huge hit. I used light olive oil and added some fresh nutmeg which worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
WONDERFULLY DELIGHTFUL!!! I baked it as is but chunked the apples in bite size pieces. This made a very pleasant breakfast cake! Thank you for such a terrific recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Hi guys! Ravram here... Love the reviews! Glad everyone seems to like it. I should have mentioned a few things when originally posting this but here goes: Of couese please adjust to suit your and your families needs. Add cinnamon or nutmeg or not. Use pears (I do too sometimes and a pinch of black pepper but I digress ...) sometimes a glaze sometimes just powdered sugar. I always used walnuts cause I love them plus my grandparents had a bunch of walnut trees in their orchard ... In Romania. So there you to. Every family is different - every village woman had her own special twist or secret. I used to love visiting my grandparents :-) In any event; adjust the recipe to suit your needs. Another tip is brown sugar 1 cup works great as well as what I originally wrote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
DELICIOUS! This is by far the BEST recipe I have gotten from here. Will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Wow! I really loved this recipe. I followed it exactly, using Golden delicious apples and like others mentioned, I was afraid that 5 would be too many but it turned out great! I highly recommend giving this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I made this for my office birthday treat. Everyone liked it. This very simple cake can serve as a breakfast coffee cake treat or a dessert. It has a nice apple and spice flavor that everyone can enjoy. I used Granny Smith apples. I noticed that the dough was very stiff when I folded it into the baking pan. I worried that I had left out some liquid ingredient because it seemed so stickey. Don't worry, it poofs up nicely in the oven into a more cake-y texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Photo by steph
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is the second time I've made this now. I reduced the sugar to 2/3rds and substituted 1/2 the oil for apple sauce, which was sweetened, that's why I reduced the sugar content. Very easy recipe to follow, delicious and very moist. Dusted with icing sugar whilst still warm, we were going to have it with custard but couldn't wait ha..ha.. Mine seems darker than everyone else's. I did use 2 tablespoons of cinnamon though, and think it took a little longer to bake than my 1st one, mustn't have been as thick a dough. Gave a slice to my neighbour, we will eat the rest tomorrow with the custard this time:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crewe, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This cake was wonderful! Very moist and the nice thing is if it doesn't get eaten immediately it doesn't dry out! Also it is great without the nuts, I am allergic to nuts and sometimes by leaving them out the cake is missing something, not this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Really yummy. Also added a handful of raisins. Baked for 75 minutes in a greased/floured bundt pan. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
wonderful ! wonderful ! This is such a delicious cake, moist & tasty. I made this yesterday for company & WOW !! fantastic, and I made it exactly as written, using 4 very large granny smith apples. It seemed a peculiar texture after mixing in the appple chunks & walnuts, (seemed to be chopped apples with a sauce). However, it turned out yummy! Thank you for this delightful recipe & I see no reason for anyone to change a single thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States