Romaine with Garlic Lemon Anchovy Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
UPDATE: I let this sit for a couple of hours and was still of the opinion it lacked *something* ... went ahead and tossed in a few T of grated Romano and a squirt of Dijon ... let it sit another couple of hours and then served with dinner. Hubby loved. ORIGINAL: Just made and while it was super quick and easy, I'm hoping there'll be a better punch once I let it sit for a while and let the flavors meld. My only change was to use a tsp of anchovy paste as I was out of anchovies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Great recipe I would not rinse or pat dry my anchovies that would take out the flavor I double the amount of anchovies and garlic and add some good hand crushed oregano I simply mince my garlic and cut up my anchovies love the concept of this salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
this was a very light and refreshing dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Crystal Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
So good and healthy and salty goodness...Although the anchovies in a blender or food processor don't really work (maybe I just don't have hi-tech kitchen gadgets). I recommend just chopping them up very finely and whisking all the ingredients together in a bowl, works better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I LOVED this dressing!!! But I love any dressing with anchovy. I thought it was light and fresh and really different. Will make again and again since it's so easy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn in CT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
AMAZING dressing! I prefer my dressing a little chunkier so I finely chopped my anchovies and didn't blend them. I also used 4 garlic cloves instead of the one. I love garlic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nataliamomof3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
The dressing really is as good as the reviews say--and it's so simple! I added black and kalamata olives and pine nuts, and that put this salad over the edge. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Wow. The dressing is amazing!! This recipe is easily worthy of 5 stars, but it's even better if you throw in some halved grape tomatoes, some peeled English cucumber, and grate some Parmesan over it all. Thanks so much, Hong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
i make this all the time now rather then my normal Caesar dressing with mayo (no eggs since i am pregnant) - it also cuts down significant calories! Shaved parm on top does the trick! Light fresh and delicious! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baby Potsticker
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
So I throughly enjoyed this recipe. I love anchovies (especially in salad dressing). The fresh shaved parmesan cheese comleted this dish. Will be making repeatedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Grilled Hearts of Romaine

Watch Chef John grill lettuce. It’s delicious and ready in a flash!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States