Romaine With Apple, Pecans and Blue Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Yummy! I used a store-bought mix of mild lettuces including butter lettuce with a bit of red cabbage mixed in. I was in a hurry and accidentally forgot the orange juice and red onion but the bitterness of the cabbage made up for it. I also had to use sour cream instead of yogurt and also added a bit of olive oil into the dressing. And I have to admit I did the dressing by feel and not following measurements. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
The combination of flavors in this salad is JUST RIGHT. As a big fan of red onion, I knew this salad would have some bite, but a good salad has some bite. That's what makes it good. The apples compliment the avocado, compliment the red onion, compliment the nuts...and it's all pulled together by a wonderful yogurt/blue cheese dressing. I'll fix this one again and again and AMAZE MY FRIENDS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Wasn't impressed with the dressing (made it exact). I took out the onions (I think mine were too strong) So I used a basic honey/mustard vinegrette and it was much better and just added the bleu cheese. I got compliments on it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I altered the recipe based on ingredients on hand. I changed the dressing to white vinegar,brown sugar, spicy mustard, and tahini. I omitted the pecans, but it was still very yummy!! I love the apple, avocado, and red onion combo, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Califon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Those of you using store bought dressing are missing out. This salad and dressing is PERFECT as is. My new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I loved the combination of flavors in this salad. I made it as described but my onions were too sharp so we picked them out. This dressing is light and I ended up dipping pita in the leftovers. Voted 5 * by all three of my "tasters".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I really liked the combo of the apple and blue cheese dressing (though I used a bottled version). I was forced to omit the avocado because mine wasn't ripe enough. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
We'll have this again for sure! My hubby and I are salad freaks and really enjoyed this one. I used a different blue cheese dressing recipe; that was the only change I made. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States