Romaine With Apple, Pecans and Blue Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
We'll have this again for sure! My hubby and I are salad freaks and really enjoyed this one. I used a different blue cheese dressing recipe; that was the only change I made. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I loved the combination of flavors in this salad. I made it as described but my onions were too sharp so we picked them out. This dressing is light and I ended up dipping pita in the leftovers. Voted 5 * by all three of my "tasters".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Those of you using store bought dressing are missing out. This salad and dressing is PERFECT as is. My new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I altered the recipe based on ingredients on hand. I changed the dressing to white vinegar,brown sugar, spicy mustard, and tahini. I omitted the pecans, but it was still very yummy!! I love the apple, avocado, and red onion combo, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Califon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
The combination of flavors in this salad is JUST RIGHT. As a big fan of red onion, I knew this salad would have some bite, but a good salad has some bite. That's what makes it good. The apples compliment the avocado, compliment the red onion, compliment the nuts...and it's all pulled together by a wonderful yogurt/blue cheese dressing. I'll fix this one again and again and AMAZE MY FRIENDS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Yummy! I used a store-bought mix of mild lettuces including butter lettuce with a bit of red cabbage mixed in. I was in a hurry and accidentally forgot the orange juice and red onion but the bitterness of the cabbage made up for it. I also had to use sour cream instead of yogurt and also added a bit of olive oil into the dressing. And I have to admit I did the dressing by feel and not following measurements. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I really liked the combo of the apple and blue cheese dressing (though I used a bottled version). I was forced to omit the avocado because mine wasn't ripe enough. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Wasn't impressed with the dressing (made it exact). I took out the onions (I think mine were too strong) So I used a basic honey/mustard vinegrette and it was much better and just added the bleu cheese. I got compliments on it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States