Romaine Rice Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Since I first found this recipe, I've made it about a dozen times. I double the last six ingredients and use fresh spinich instead of the lettuce. It makes a great dinner with a pear salad and good wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Yum! My neighbors came over for lunch adn I seerved this dish. It was definitely a hit. One asked for the recipe because her husband loved the leftovers so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Really great recipe! Perfect for dinner on a hot summer day. I made the recipe as directed with a couple of additions based on previous reviews. I added a good sized handful of feta and a big handful of kalamta olives. My husband raved about this salad. I think the feta and the olives added a lot of flavor, but the other magic going on here is the hot rice wilting the lettuce and sort of blending everything together. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was delicious! It's addictive--I couldn't stop eating it. I was afraid the tuna or vinegar would be overpowering, but the unusual mix of flavors was perfect. My toddlers didn't care for it, but anticipating this, I made extra rice so they could have it alone. The only change I made was to use brown rice instead of white. Next time might follow other users' suggestions and try spinach, feta, and/or black olives, and might add another carrot. Also, I might store the leftover rice and salad separately to preserve it better. PS: I just realized the recipe calls for 2 cups uncooked rice; I used 2 cups cooked rice, which I thought was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Very easy comfort food, esp. after a long day at work. I mixed a small can of tuna and about 1 cup rice (leftover), microwaved it, drizzled some olive oil with truffle and balsamic vinegar. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
yummy! I loved it. the only changes I made was using iceberg lettuce (its all I had) and adding lemon zest and chili oil. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Very good! In fact, surprisingly good. My husband won't eat tuna, but I was craving it and looking for a new recipe. I didn't have any carrots, so I used celery instead; I also used a Mediterranean salad mix, so I added some Greek herb seasoning. If I had had feta cheese, I would have added that, also, but I didn't, so I added a little parmesan. I really enjoyed this, and it's very healthful and customizeable. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
My family loves this recipe! I add green olives (because we love them in everything) and cool the rice before mixing, because I like it crunchy. It is so quick and easy -- and healthy! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horsham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I thought this was very different and great! I added radish to give it some color & crunch. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE4KYLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I've made this recipe about 5 times. I use half a bag of spinach instead of romaine lettuce. I also throw in about 1/4 cup chopped walnuts for some crunch. I also add an extra carrot. It's easy to modify this recipe and add a little more or less of the ingredients depending on your tastes. Definitely a departure from your typical mayonnaise based tuna salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ursulaj.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weston, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States