Romaine Rice Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I've made this recipe about 5 times. I use half a bag of spinach instead of romaine lettuce. I also throw in about 1/4 cup chopped walnuts for some crunch. I also add an extra carrot. It's easy to modify this recipe and add a little more or less of the ingredients depending on your tastes. Definitely a departure from your typical mayonnaise based tuna salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ursulaj.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weston, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Since I first found this recipe, I've made it about a dozen times. I double the last six ingredients and use fresh spinich instead of the lettuce. It makes a great dinner with a pear salad and good wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Really great recipe! Perfect for dinner on a hot summer day. I made the recipe as directed with a couple of additions based on previous reviews. I added a good sized handful of feta and a big handful of kalamta olives. My husband raved about this salad. I think the feta and the olives added a lot of flavor, but the other magic going on here is the hot rice wilting the lettuce and sort of blending everything together. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Yum! My neighbors came over for lunch adn I seerved this dish. It was definitely a hit. One asked for the recipe because her husband loved the leftovers so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I halved the rice, vinegar and oil, kept the other amounts the same, and I used whole-grain brown rice. I highly recommend using brown rice, even if you keep the other amounts the same. Very tasty, I will make again for sure! Next time I will try the spinach and chopped walnuts like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was delicious! It's addictive--I couldn't stop eating it. I was afraid the tuna or vinegar would be overpowering, but the unusual mix of flavors was perfect. My toddlers didn't care for it, but anticipating this, I made extra rice so they could have it alone. The only change I made was to use brown rice instead of white. Next time might follow other users' suggestions and try spinach, feta, and/or black olives, and might add another carrot. Also, I might store the leftover rice and salad separately to preserve it better. PS: I just realized the recipe calls for 2 cups uncooked rice; I used 2 cups cooked rice, which I thought was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Wow, these ingredients really work together. And what a fabulous way to make something easy, inexpensive, and healthy! The only comment I have is that, as written, I think the recipe is too heavy on rice. If making for 1 or 2 people, half the rice and water. If making it for more, double everything else. I also really love it with a bit of feta cheese and chopped tomatoes; the coolness of the tomatoes with the warm rice and tuna is just divine. It's great as is, but also a very easy recipe to play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rabea
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
A great meal that could be done in short time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hora, Capital, Bahrain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I was intrigued by this recipe since it didn't contain a bucket of mayonaise like most other tuna salads. OH MY GOODNESS! So quick and easy to make, and what a *fabulous* combination of flavors! I used fresh spinach and iceberg lettuce b/c that's what I had, I also threw in a small jar of seasoned feta cheese and a box of cherry tomatoes (halved so the juice mixes with everything else). It's a great recipe to customize to your own tastes. I just finished eating this for dinner so I am full now but I can't wait to have this again for lunch tomorrow! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Yummy recipe. I'll probaly use less balsamic only because the balsamic vinegar I bought at the store is too "vinegar-sour!?" To make this dish lunch time portable, cut the the thick rib out of the leaf and roll it up like a roulade. This recipe has been a great alternative to another ho-hum brown bag lunch sandwich:P Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States