Romaine and Mandarin Orange Salad with Poppy Seed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Wow - now this is a salad! It's full of vibrant colors and it's a great combination of flavors. I can see why the submitter gets rave reviews when it's served. I know I certainly did! And, I'm glad I read through the reviews, because I cut the sugar in half and that was plenty. I also opted for olive oil vs. veg. oil and dijon vs. dry mustard. You can definitely play with this to suite your tastes and you won't be disapppointed. I added some dried cranberries to the mix for that little extra something... Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Thanks for sharing this delicious refreshing salad, Joni B! I cut the sugar back to 1/2c and it was still plenty. This is a favorite around our house. I sometimes toss in a handful of dried cranberries, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
We really enjoyed this salad, even though I forgot to add the almonds. The (pink) dressing is excellent:not 'too' sweet, to us. Presentation is fresh & beautiful. I will not only make for company, but often, for everyday family meals. Thank you, for such a delicious and pretty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I made this today for lunch and it got rave reviews! I substituted spinach for the romaine because I didn't have any. Next time, I might try a little less sugar, but my husband thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Excellent Salad! Very refreshing and a great addition to our Father's Day menu this year. Followed the recipe with the exception of using a couple of small shallots, diced very small in place of the red onion. I don't care for a strong onion flavor, so I didn't add them to the blender with the other ingredients. I stirred them into the finished dressing right before service. Worked great. We would be very happy to make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I really like this recipe, I toasted the almonds with some brown sugar and butter to add some more crunchiness and used 1/3 cup less sugar in the dressing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westbrook, Connecticut, USA
Living In: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
5 stars - this recipe worked even though I subbed EVERYTHING based on supply! sesame seeds for poppy, grapeseed oil for vegetable, oranges for mandarins, rice vinegar for apple, etc.... But loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ayk

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Just got back from a family gathering. My salad bowl was the only empty one at the end of the meal. Everyone asked for the recipe, even the men! I cut back on the sugar, added half an apple to the dressing (double batch). I used half baby spinach and half mixed greens. Wow, after all these years of cooking I even impressed myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I was pretty disappointed, considering everyone gave this recipe 5 stars. I thought the dressing was entirely too onion-y and the salad lacked flavor. Next time (if there is one) I would add less onion for sure, hoping to combat the strong onion flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This was good. I substituted spring mix for romaine. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaryChef08

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States