Romaine and Mandarin Orange Salad with Poppy Seed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I really enjoyed this salad. The dressing was very interesting, and I never thought to use onions like that in a dressing to thicken it. Wonderful flavor and I can see lots of options to add different things to vary. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I make this salad but with a difference. I add spinach and I put in cottage cheese at the end and toss it. It is called Spinach salad St. Louis and people just absolutely go crazy over it and all want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
We really enjoyed this salad, even though I forgot to add the almonds. The (pink) dressing is excellent:not 'too' sweet, to us. Presentation is fresh & beautiful. I will not only make for company, but often, for everyday family meals. Thank you, for such a delicious and pretty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Wow. So good. Was sick and tired of eating romaine with tomatoes and italian or caesar dressing. This was a refreshing, sweet, smoky, and savory (sorry for the alliteration, completely unintentional) dish that was perfect for a hot summer evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyhan Sung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
My new favorite salad! Had this for a Sunday lunch party. Served it with Lasagna and the reviews were great. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keepingitspicy
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This is a great recipe where you have the flavor of onion but it is so blended in to the dressing. The dressing is also so versitile, great on a broccoli salad with raisins and sunflower seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keepingitspicy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morden, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Excellent! I made a few adjustments for my own preference such as: I left out the poppy seeds, used olive oil instead of veggie oil, & used regular oranges. I added garlic because I just love garlic & I thought it needed a zing to it. It was one of my fav. salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Fabulous dressing. Made it according to the recipe the first few times, now I just make the dressing and add it to whatever type salad we are having. I especially like it with feta cheese and dried cranberries. Have to make it up for my sister on a regular basis. Very very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kamsack, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I really like this recipe, I toasted the almonds with some brown sugar and butter to add some more crunchiness and used 1/3 cup less sugar in the dressing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westbrook, Connecticut, USA
Living In: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
5 stars - this recipe worked even though I subbed EVERYTHING based on supply! sesame seeds for poppy, grapeseed oil for vegetable, oranges for mandarins, rice vinegar for apple, etc.... But loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ayk

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States