Romaine and Mandarin Orange Salad with Poppy Seed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I made this today for lunch and it got rave reviews! I substituted spinach for the romaine because I didn't have any. Next time, I might try a little less sugar, but my husband thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Thanks for sharing this delicious refreshing salad, Joni B! I cut the sugar back to 1/2c and it was still plenty. This is a favorite around our house. I sometimes toss in a handful of dried cranberries, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I really enjoyed this salad. The dressing was very interesting, and I never thought to use onions like that in a dressing to thicken it. Wonderful flavor and I can see lots of options to add different things to vary. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keepingitspicy
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This is a great recipe where you have the flavor of onion but it is so blended in to the dressing. The dressing is also so versitile, great on a broccoli salad with raisins and sunflower seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keepingitspicy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morden, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Excellent! I made a few adjustments for my own preference such as: I left out the poppy seeds, used olive oil instead of veggie oil, & used regular oranges. I added garlic because I just love garlic & I thought it needed a zing to it. It was one of my fav. salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
My new favorite salad! Had this for a Sunday lunch party. Served it with Lasagna and the reviews were great. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Wow. So good. Was sick and tired of eating romaine with tomatoes and italian or caesar dressing. This was a refreshing, sweet, smoky, and savory (sorry for the alliteration, completely unintentional) dish that was perfect for a hot summer evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jomia32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I make this salad but with a difference. I add spinach and I put in cottage cheese at the end and toss it. It is called Spinach salad St. Louis and people just absolutely go crazy over it and all want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
We really enjoyed this salad, even though I forgot to add the almonds. The (pink) dressing is excellent:not 'too' sweet, to us. Presentation is fresh & beautiful. I will not only make for company, but often, for everyday family meals. Thank you, for such a delicious and pretty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States