Rolling Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MAGDIEGO
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This was my second attempt at fondant - I first tried the marshmallow fondant, and it never got past the sticky stage. I tried again with this recipe, and success! I don't think I got all 8 cups of confectioners sugar in, but it was close. It rolls like a dream, and was incredibly easy to use. It's very sweet, but you don't use fondant for the taste, so I can live with it. I spritzed the bowl of my mixer with some cooking spray before I started, and had no trouble with sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Great taste. doesn't take long but you need to put the sugar in before the cornsyrup or it will stick to the bottem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teenchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samantha
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I don't know what the first review is all about...your hands are going to hurt after making any fondant. Anyways, I adore this recipe. I think my fondant turned out great! I have never used it before so I was hesitant about which recipe to use. I am so glad I chose this one because I was terrified it wouldn't turn out and this did. It was super fun to make. My little hand mixer couldn't hold up to it but I figured that from the start. My hands worked just as well. I had to add a little extra powdered sugar but other than that I had no problems! Thanks for a great recipe that I will use over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soifua
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Super easy, yummy and not as sweet as the marshmallow fondant recipe. I put 7 cups of powdered sugar in the kitchen aid bowl and added all the ingredients on top of that (used all oil instead of adding the shortening) and then with the dough hook I turned the machine on low. After all the sugar was kneaded in (by the machine :), if it still looked sticky I added more powdered sugar and when I took it out I only kneaded it a few times before storing. This is my new go-to recipe for fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was a great help. I avoided the expense of a fondant rolling pin and bought a pvc pipe for $2.00 It worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bern

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Amherst, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Great Fondant recipe, and I've tried quite a few...for those reviewers that say it's too sticky, make sure you let it SET at least until room temperature...DON'T just add more and more sugar! That is what makes it so crumbly when you go to use it (I made that mistake myself the first time trying this recipe). If it's still even slightly warm from the gelatin mixture, it's NOT READY! It has worked best for me to make it a day ahead, and tightly wrap in a couple layers of plastic wrap for the next day's use (I always put a TINY bit of shortening (like the size of a pearl) on my hands and then pat it into a ball before putting in plastic to keep it from drying out or sticking to the plastic). As for COLORING, I use Wilton Gel Paste colors...just put a couple spots of color around your desired amoutn of fondant with a toothpick and knead it by hand (if fondant starts to stick to your hands, and it WILL, spread a tiny bit of shortening all over your hands and continue...I always do this several times). Best technique I've found for totally blending in colors is stretching it repeatedly like taffy...if your fondant is the correct consistency you should be able to stretch it without breakage after softening by kneading it. Quick softening tip: rub fondant between hands into a cylindrical shape a couple of times...spreads your body heat quicker! Don't be afraid of getting your hands a little dirty! Happy Decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This recipe is perfect! I've never made fondant & today felt especially crafty, so I gave it a shot. I sort of mixed it up roughly by hand, then used my bread machine to do all the thorough mixing (in 1/3 portions) and got the most perfect fondant within minutes. This goes in my permanent collection. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wigan, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I used this recipe for a small red velvet cake, and I had some left over. So I added a bit of food coloring and used it to make some flowers. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucyskydiamond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingforlife
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I also tried the marshmallow fondant and couldn’t get past the sticky stage. This had the slightly milder flavor I was looking for and rolled out so much better. The first time I rolled it out with too much powdered sugar, got it too dry, and it cracked. But once I figured out that it didn’t take as much powdered sugar to roll out, it turned out to be the easiest fondant I have ever used. Rolling it on the wax paper was a great tip and worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was awesome, easy to make, easy to use and tasted good. I'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Castleton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States