Rolling Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Very good recipe! This was the first time I had ever used fondant, let alone make it and it was awesome. Don't pay attention to the bad reviews, they probably didn't take it all the way. Yes it is crumbly when you are mixing it and it doesn't seem that it will ever come together, but once you have all the ingredients mixed, take the bowl off the mixer stand and use your hands!! I had to add about a tbs of water when I was kneading it and once I had all the crumbly bits stuck into one big ball I kneaded it some more and put it in the microwave for 30 seconds, it softened up and I had it all uniformly mixed within a couple minutes. Oh if you want to make it taste even better than it already does add about 3 tsp of your favorite extract, or just stick to the ole stand-by and use vanilla (clear if you want to keep it white, and it's easily found at any grocery store; I got clear vanilla at wal-mart). Another couple of tips, if you add food color, add it and mix it in before you begin adding the sugar, and leave the corn starch out for rolling it out, use the vegetable shortening, rub some on the roller and the surface, it works like a dream! I would recommend this recipe to any first-timer, it tastes great and as long as you roll it out to the right thickness, it goes on a cake easily and smoothly! Go buy a fondant rolling pin and smoother, that'll cost you about 25 bucks at wal-mart! Happy baking, hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Wow!! I have always shied away from fondant because I thought it was only for those "specialised cake pros'! This was SUPER easy and you just made me a hero at my daughters birthday party! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Super simple to make and easy to work with. Ingredients are easy to come by and taste so much better than store bought fondant. Definately a keeper. FYI one recipe makes a batch approx size of a grapefruit. I made 2 batches and ended up with WAY too much for what I'm doing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Beall Mercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
i used this on i cake for a party and it was really easy and looked really good on my cake, but it doesnt taste half as great as it looks. most people ended up just eating around it. if you're looking for an easy recipe this is definately the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was very good fondant, but it was sticky. Tasted good but it didn't work out too well for me. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfool101

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Does anyone know how much this makes? Had to rate it in order to post quetion. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
good recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nix051301

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I do not like the taste of store bought fonant so I decided to try this recipe out. This is a keeper!!! I had no problems with it. I started out using my kitchen aid and finished with my hands. It was very easy to work with. I had no problems with it sticking and did not need to chill it. It made more than enough. Thank you for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackman, Maine, USA
Living In: Athens, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cartersmomalisha
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I used this recipe for my son's first birthday cake. I had tried making my own marshmallow fondant before, but it was so sticky--I couldn't work with it. This recipe, though, was great! I actually had to make 3 recipes to cover and decorate my cake. It took me a while to figure out how to lift it up onto the cake without it tearing, but once I VERY THOROUGHLY covered my rolling area with confectioners suger, it lifted without a hitch. The more I worked with it, the easier it became. It covered great and was also perfect for cutouts and ribbons! All of our guests raved about the look and taste of the fondant! This is definitely going to be my permanent recipe!! ANYONE could do this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cartersmomalisha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This recipe showed up on my daily feed the same day my daughter asked about fondant so I said why not. We made it and had a blast practicing and playing. It comes together easily and has a great texture to it. Inexperienced teenage girls had great success. and the flavor wasn't too bad either. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunrise Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stetsonville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Chef John's Demi-Glace

Watch how to make the most delicious demi-glace!

Quick Tartar Sauce

Delicious homemade sauce with just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States