Rolling Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Very easy... I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I tried this and my fondant stuck straight onto the counter. I asked someone who makes cakes and she said to use confectioner's sugar, not cornstarch to powder the surface. I had to trash an entire batch because of the cornstarch :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
this is an incredibly simple recipe with great texture. i just microwaved the gelatin and water for 20 seconds and that worked well. putting the icing sugar in the bowl first and adding the other ingredients after, like other reviews suggested was good because you didnt have you worry about the corn syrup or anything sticking to the bottom of the bowl. a few tweaks i would suggest is first, that although it doesnt taste bad, its not as tasty as the marshmallow fondant, so maybe next time i will add a teaspoon or two of clear vanilla extract. second, you need to use the dough hook for the stand mixer, any other beater would be too big and will burn out the motor and not mix it properly. also, you dont need to mix it for 15 minutes. let the stand mixer mix it for about 5 or so minutes just to let the ingredients combine and start to hold together, then take it out and finish it up by kneading it on a surface dusted with cornstarch. you dont need to knead it for long, maybe 2 minutes? and i would skip the refridgeration if you are using it right away, it holds its shape extremely well and doesnt get too sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Love this it is the closest recipe I have found to a traditional fondant! Very easy to work, and simple to make!! Will definatly use again!!! Only thing I did to add to this recipe is to add a little vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This worked very nicely, thank you for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was my first time making or using fondant, and it worked out pretty well. The difficulties I encountered were more because of my inexperience than because of the recipe, which seemed great. I echo what another reviewer said--add the corn syrup AFTER the sugar; mine did stick to the bowl. I don't have a stand mixer so I mixed by hand, which wasn't too bad but be prepared to have very sticky, fondant-covered hands, and be sure you've prepared something to put the mixed fondant down on (or scrape it off your hands on to) when you're done! After chilling I used powdered sugar instead of cornstarch for rolling and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ven8zia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I think I did it!!!! This is my first fondant trial. I was so scared I keep putting it off. It was done in minutes! I chose this recipe because I don't have a microwave for the marshmallow fondant. I did not use a mixer, I don't have a stand mixer and from the other reviews the hand mixer can't handle the whole batch anyway. So I put the sugar in a big bowl, made a well in the center, add the corn syrup, oil, shortening in the middle and I stirred with a wooden spoon, add the gelatin mixture while still stirring the spoon. This incorporates about half the batch, then I knead the rest with hand. DONE!!!! I'm so happy! I'm going to use this for decoration only so I will tint some of the fondant with colors and go from there. It tastes sugary (well, what do you expect? lol). Thank you so much for an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebekahW
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was my first attempt at fondant and it turned out great. I made a layered cake so I frosted each layer with buttercream icing recipe (also 5 stars) and froze them so the fondant was easier to munipulate. It looks awesome!! I was so happy that the consistency was easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebekahW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I'm 16 and I did this with my mom no problem! It was a fun experiment and we finished two batches within the hour! We don't know what all the complaints about - it was very easy. A little messy, sure, but what recipe isn't? If you know how to knead bread dough, this is cake (no pun intended).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Great Fondant recipe, and I've tried quite a few...for those reviewers that say it's too sticky, make sure you let it SET at least until room temperature...DON'T just add more and more sugar! That is what makes it so crumbly when you go to use it (I made that mistake myself the first time trying this recipe). If it's still even slightly warm from the gelatin mixture, it's NOT READY! It has worked best for me to make it a day ahead, and tightly wrap in a couple layers of plastic wrap for the next day's use (I always put a TINY bit of shortening (like the size of a pearl) on my hands and then pat it into a ball before putting in plastic to keep it from drying out or sticking to the plastic). As for COLORING, I use Wilton Gel Paste colors...just put a couple spots of color around your desired amoutn of fondant with a toothpick and knead it by hand (if fondant starts to stick to your hands, and it WILL, spread a tiny bit of shortening all over your hands and continue...I always do this several times). Best technique I've found for totally blending in colors is stretching it repeatedly like taffy...if your fondant is the correct consistency you should be able to stretch it without breakage after softening by kneading it. Quick softening tip: rub fondant between hands into a cylindrical shape a couple of times...spreads your body heat quicker! Don't be afraid of getting your hands a little dirty! Happy Decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States