Rolling Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
this is an incredibly simple recipe with great texture. i just microwaved the gelatin and water for 20 seconds and that worked well. putting the icing sugar in the bowl first and adding the other ingredients after, like other reviews suggested was good because you didnt have you worry about the corn syrup or anything sticking to the bottom of the bowl. a few tweaks i would suggest is first, that although it doesnt taste bad, its not as tasty as the marshmallow fondant, so maybe next time i will add a teaspoon or two of clear vanilla extract. second, you need to use the dough hook for the stand mixer, any other beater would be too big and will burn out the motor and not mix it properly. also, you dont need to mix it for 15 minutes. let the stand mixer mix it for about 5 or so minutes just to let the ingredients combine and start to hold together, then take it out and finish it up by kneading it on a surface dusted with cornstarch. you dont need to knead it for long, maybe 2 minutes? and i would skip the refridgeration if you are using it right away, it holds its shape extremely well and doesnt get too sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Love this it is the closest recipe I have found to a traditional fondant! Very easy to work, and simple to make!! Will definatly use again!!! Only thing I did to add to this recipe is to add a little vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This worked very nicely, thank you for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was my first time making or using fondant, and it worked out pretty well. The difficulties I encountered were more because of my inexperience than because of the recipe, which seemed great. I echo what another reviewer said--add the corn syrup AFTER the sugar; mine did stick to the bowl. I don't have a stand mixer so I mixed by hand, which wasn't too bad but be prepared to have very sticky, fondant-covered hands, and be sure you've prepared something to put the mixed fondant down on (or scrape it off your hands on to) when you're done! After chilling I used powdered sugar instead of cornstarch for rolling and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ven8zia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I think I did it!!!! This is my first fondant trial. I was so scared I keep putting it off. It was done in minutes! I chose this recipe because I don't have a microwave for the marshmallow fondant. I did not use a mixer, I don't have a stand mixer and from the other reviews the hand mixer can't handle the whole batch anyway. So I put the sugar in a big bowl, made a well in the center, add the corn syrup, oil, shortening in the middle and I stirred with a wooden spoon, add the gelatin mixture while still stirring the spoon. This incorporates about half the batch, then I knead the rest with hand. DONE!!!! I'm so happy! I'm going to use this for decoration only so I will tint some of the fondant with colors and go from there. It tastes sugary (well, what do you expect? lol). Thank you so much for an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebekahW
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was my first attempt at fondant and it turned out great. I made a layered cake so I frosted each layer with buttercream icing recipe (also 5 stars) and froze them so the fondant was easier to munipulate. It looks awesome!! I was so happy that the consistency was easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebekahW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I'm 16 and I did this with my mom no problem! It was a fun experiment and we finished two batches within the hour! We don't know what all the complaints about - it was very easy. A little messy, sure, but what recipe isn't? If you know how to knead bread dough, this is cake (no pun intended).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Great Fondant recipe, and I've tried quite a few...for those reviewers that say it's too sticky, make sure you let it SET at least until room temperature...DON'T just add more and more sugar! That is what makes it so crumbly when you go to use it (I made that mistake myself the first time trying this recipe). If it's still even slightly warm from the gelatin mixture, it's NOT READY! It has worked best for me to make it a day ahead, and tightly wrap in a couple layers of plastic wrap for the next day's use (I always put a TINY bit of shortening (like the size of a pearl) on my hands and then pat it into a ball before putting in plastic to keep it from drying out or sticking to the plastic). As for COLORING, I use Wilton Gel Paste colors...just put a couple spots of color around your desired amoutn of fondant with a toothpick and knead it by hand (if fondant starts to stick to your hands, and it WILL, spread a tiny bit of shortening all over your hands and continue...I always do this several times). Best technique I've found for totally blending in colors is stretching it repeatedly like taffy...if your fondant is the correct consistency you should be able to stretch it without breakage after softening by kneading it. Quick softening tip: rub fondant between hands into a cylindrical shape a couple of times...spreads your body heat quicker! Don't be afraid of getting your hands a little dirty! Happy Decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Very good recipe! This was the first time I had ever used fondant, let alone make it and it was awesome. Don't pay attention to the bad reviews, they probably didn't take it all the way. Yes it is crumbly when you are mixing it and it doesn't seem that it will ever come together, but once you have all the ingredients mixed, take the bowl off the mixer stand and use your hands!! I had to add about a tbs of water when I was kneading it and once I had all the crumbly bits stuck into one big ball I kneaded it some more and put it in the microwave for 30 seconds, it softened up and I had it all uniformly mixed within a couple minutes. Oh if you want to make it taste even better than it already does add about 3 tsp of your favorite extract, or just stick to the ole stand-by and use vanilla (clear if you want to keep it white, and it's easily found at any grocery store; I got clear vanilla at wal-mart). Another couple of tips, if you add food color, add it and mix it in before you begin adding the sugar, and leave the corn starch out for rolling it out, use the vegetable shortening, rub some on the roller and the surface, it works like a dream! I would recommend this recipe to any first-timer, it tastes great and as long as you roll it out to the right thickness, it goes on a cake easily and smoothly! Go buy a fondant rolling pin and smoother, that'll cost you about 25 bucks at wal-mart! Happy baking, hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Wow!! I have always shied away from fondant because I thought it was only for those "specialised cake pros'! This was SUPER easy and you just made me a hero at my daughters birthday party! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States