Rolling Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by riamia
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Fabulous! This was my first fondant attempt and it turned out great! I combined all wet ingredients first in the stand mixer, then added the confectioners sugar. This will be my go to fondant recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riamia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soifua
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Super easy, yummy and not as sweet as the marshmallow fondant recipe. I put 7 cups of powdered sugar in the kitchen aid bowl and added all the ingredients on top of that (used all oil instead of adding the shortening) and then with the dough hook I turned the machine on low. After all the sugar was kneaded in (by the machine :), if it still looked sticky I added more powdered sugar and when I took it out I only kneaded it a few times before storing. This is my new go-to recipe for fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Until recently I had never worked with fondant. I do like the marshmallow fondant recipe but that one takes a lot of time. I will definitely use this recipe again. It was quite easy to make and doesn't have to be refrigerated long if at all. I followed the recipe exactly and as previous users stated, there was no need for the full 8 cups of confectionery sugar. I worked a little oil/water into the fondant when it seemed a bit dry. I know practicing more will prevent my fondant from cracking but overall I was very happy with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultonborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
We made this fondant and it was our firtst try so it could be that, but it didn't work well. It seemed very greasy and we couldn't get it on the cake so we just decorated with it. We also had trouble with that so we put the fondant in the fridge to finish with in the morning and after it chilled it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARPVET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I used this recipe for a small red velvet cake, and I had some left over. So I added a bit of food coloring and used it to make some flowers. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucyskydiamond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingforlife
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I also tried the marshmallow fondant and couldn’t get past the sticky stage. This had the slightly milder flavor I was looking for and rolled out so much better. The first time I rolled it out with too much powdered sugar, got it too dry, and it cracked. But once I figured out that it didn’t take as much powdered sugar to roll out, it turned out to be the easiest fondant I have ever used. Rolling it on the wax paper was a great tip and worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was awesome, easy to make, easy to use and tasted good. I'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Castleton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was a great help. I avoided the expense of a fondant rolling pin and bought a pvc pipe for $2.00 It worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bern

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Amherst, Ohio, USA
Photo by Samantha
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I don't know what the first review is all about...your hands are going to hurt after making any fondant. Anyways, I adore this recipe. I think my fondant turned out great! I have never used it before so I was hesitant about which recipe to use. I am so glad I chose this one because I was terrified it wouldn't turn out and this did. It was super fun to make. My little hand mixer couldn't hold up to it but I figured that from the start. My hands worked just as well. I had to add a little extra powdered sugar but other than that I had no problems! Thanks for a great recipe that I will use over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAGDIEGO
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This was my second attempt at fondant - I first tried the marshmallow fondant, and it never got past the sticky stage. I tried again with this recipe, and success! I don't think I got all 8 cups of confectioners sugar in, but it was close. It rolls like a dream, and was incredibly easy to use. It's very sweet, but you don't use fondant for the taste, so I can live with it. I spritzed the bowl of my mixer with some cooking spray before I started, and had no trouble with sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States