Rolling Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is very similar to a recipes I used in a cake book some years ago, and since my library was closed, I defaulted to this recipe and I am not disappointed with it. This fondant, and the other fondants I;ve made are pretty fail proof if you follow the direction and they take minutes. You can spend $6+ on premade fondant or make your own for just over a dollar, hmmm which would you choose? I take expending a bit of energy to get the same product or better thank you. :) Although I still prefer buttercreams or other frosting and icing, fondant has its uses, I would personally rather eat flowers made of butter cream then fondant, they are quite tasteless and overly sweet, but fondant is generally smoother looking, but I think this also makes cakes appear more dull and boring, even the more elaborate ones. :) I like to see a combination of both mediums personally. :) God Bless ~Amy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by godssoulsinger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Instead of using shortening, can I use margarine?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andSahar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Quezon City, Quezon, Philippines
Living In: Iloilo City, Iloilo, Philippines
Photo by riamia
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Fabulous! This was my first fondant attempt and it turned out great! I combined all wet ingredients first in the stand mixer, then added the confectioners sugar. This will be my go to fondant recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riamia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soifua
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Super easy, yummy and not as sweet as the marshmallow fondant recipe. I put 7 cups of powdered sugar in the kitchen aid bowl and added all the ingredients on top of that (used all oil instead of adding the shortening) and then with the dough hook I turned the machine on low. After all the sugar was kneaded in (by the machine :), if it still looked sticky I added more powdered sugar and when I took it out I only kneaded it a few times before storing. This is my new go-to recipe for fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Until recently I had never worked with fondant. I do like the marshmallow fondant recipe but that one takes a lot of time. I will definitely use this recipe again. It was quite easy to make and doesn't have to be refrigerated long if at all. I followed the recipe exactly and as previous users stated, there was no need for the full 8 cups of confectionery sugar. I worked a little oil/water into the fondant when it seemed a bit dry. I know practicing more will prevent my fondant from cracking but overall I was very happy with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultonborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
We made this fondant and it was our firtst try so it could be that, but it didn't work well. It seemed very greasy and we couldn't get it on the cake so we just decorated with it. We also had trouble with that so we put the fondant in the fridge to finish with in the morning and after it chilled it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Harberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I used this recipe for a small red velvet cake, and I had some left over. So I added a bit of food coloring and used it to make some flowers. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucyskydiamond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingforlife
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I also tried the marshmallow fondant and couldn’t get past the sticky stage. This had the slightly milder flavor I was looking for and rolled out so much better. The first time I rolled it out with too much powdered sugar, got it too dry, and it cracked. But once I figured out that it didn’t take as much powdered sugar to roll out, it turned out to be the easiest fondant I have ever used. Rolling it on the wax paper was a great tip and worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was awesome, easy to make, easy to use and tasted good. I'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Castleton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was a great help. I avoided the expense of a fondant rolling pin and bought a pvc pipe for $2.00 It worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bern

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Amherst, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Chef John's Demi-Glace

Watch how to make the most delicious demi-glace!

Quick Tartar Sauce

Delicious homemade sauce with just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States