Rolling Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Was awesome! Had to roll it out with cornstarch because it was so humid. I will definately stick to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This fondant is PERFECT!! I've made AR's marshmallow fondant before, and it worked out but I needed something FAST! I tried the buttercream fondant recipe from AR but it didn't work out at all, so this recipe was great for a quick fix! I followed the recipe and directions exactly and it gave me perfect, easy to roll, good tasting fondant. This is the ONLY fondant recipe I will ever use again. Thanks so much for the recipe Holly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar High

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
After reading most of the reviews, I felt confident this fondant could be easy to work with. I did not have any problems working with the fondant, and I followed the directions exactly. This was the first time I have ever made my own fondant and was very pleased with the results. The guests raved about the fondant. Definitely would recommend this easy to make and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I thought this recipe was great. We accidentally left some out and it got dry, but just kneading it again with a little Crisco softened it right back up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This recipe is perfect! I've never made fondant & today felt especially crafty, so I gave it a shot. I sort of mixed it up roughly by hand, then used my bread machine to do all the thorough mixing (in 1/3 portions) and got the most perfect fondant within minutes. This goes in my permanent collection. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wigan, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is very similar to a recipes I used in a cake book some years ago, and since my library was closed, I defaulted to this recipe and I am not disappointed with it. This fondant, and the other fondants I;ve made are pretty fail proof if you follow the direction and they take minutes. You can spend $6+ on premade fondant or make your own for just over a dollar, hmmm which would you choose? I take expending a bit of energy to get the same product or better thank you. :) Although I still prefer buttercreams or other frosting and icing, fondant has its uses, I would personally rather eat flowers made of butter cream then fondant, they are quite tasteless and overly sweet, but fondant is generally smoother looking, but I think this also makes cakes appear more dull and boring, even the more elaborate ones. :) I like to see a combination of both mediums personally. :) God Bless ~Amy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by godssoulsinger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Instead of using shortening, can I use margarine?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andSahar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Quezon City, Quezon, Philippines
Living In: Iloilo City, Iloilo, Philippines
Photo by riamia
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Fabulous! This was my first fondant attempt and it turned out great! I combined all wet ingredients first in the stand mixer, then added the confectioners sugar. This will be my go to fondant recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riamia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soifua
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Super easy, yummy and not as sweet as the marshmallow fondant recipe. I put 7 cups of powdered sugar in the kitchen aid bowl and added all the ingredients on top of that (used all oil instead of adding the shortening) and then with the dough hook I turned the machine on low. After all the sugar was kneaded in (by the machine :), if it still looked sticky I added more powdered sugar and when I took it out I only kneaded it a few times before storing. This is my new go-to recipe for fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Until recently I had never worked with fondant. I do like the marshmallow fondant recipe but that one takes a lot of time. I will definitely use this recipe again. It was quite easy to make and doesn't have to be refrigerated long if at all. I followed the recipe exactly and as previous users stated, there was no need for the full 8 cups of confectionery sugar. I worked a little oil/water into the fondant when it seemed a bit dry. I know practicing more will prevent my fondant from cracking but overall I was very happy with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultonborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States