Rolling Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
i have two left hands when it comes to things like this but this recipe won't fail you. note though that you need an industrial mixer to make this work - don't burn out your regular one. if it starts to slow down, put on some gloves and mix it by hand. it will roll out just fine this way. my 11 year old daughter made this with me and could roll it out by herself and make shapes. tastes good too but mostly will make you look like you work for the "cake boss" himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by saradonkey74
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Just call me "Cake Boss" with this recipe....so fool proof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
So easy and turned out perfect the first time I made it. I used my kitchenaid and mixed it with the dough hook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, New York, USA
Living In: Wallkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
My first time ever using fondant and this recipe was easy and did a great job! I do not recommend using a cheap mixer. I made that mistake and it blew the engine on it, lucky grandma has a heavy duty cake mixer.Oh and this fondant has a wayyy better flavor than the store bought fondant which is what I was going to do first until I realized how much cheaper it is to just make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
wow, if I only knew it's this easy to make your own fondant...I am going to use cookie cutters to make cut-out to place on cupcakes, it looks like it'd be pretty easy. I haven't colored them because I need a deep color, so I'm using this one as a white fondant. I would only color my own fondant if I need a pastel color otherwise it will take a lot of coloring to get a deep color, at that rate you might as well buy ready made ones. One thing I encountered that was an issue was that I let my gelatin mixture sit too long and it started to solidify, and became hard to mixed in, so I would prepare the mixture when you're already mixing the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mollie
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was my 1st time making fondant - I've always used buttercream in the past but we wanted something extra special for baby's 1st birthday so I tried this recipe and I'm glad I did! It rolls like a dream and was so easy to use. It's very sweet and decorates cake beautifully!! UPDATE: The more I use this fondant the easier it gets and the better my cakes look. I love this recipe and now I only use fondant :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Great for cake! loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sea10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I absolutely loved this fondant! It worked out really well for us. I've had to go back and forth on using cornstarch or shortening to roll it out on depending on the humidity here. Only once did I have it too dry to roll out as it kept cracking, but that was my own error. When I follow the recipe, it comes out perfect! Tastes awesome too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
can anyone tell me what kind of food coloring to add to this recipe? not sure if i have to use powdered food coloring or not. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
It didnt turn out well and kept on breaking due to dryness...i wanted to cover a v small cake but it couldnt spread even little! I was very disappointed as I was decorating my bday cake and had put lot of efforts and $$! I had followed the recipe as suggested and infact added less sugar and thought I would add more if needed but it didnt work out for me :(.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States