Rolling Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This recipe made great fondant, taste was really fresh, compared to boxed from Wilton. Simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollychuck1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
im going to try out this recipe today and hopeing for success from reading the comments i have a feeling this will turn out well fingers crossed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Happily-a-Peterman
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was a great recipe to work with for a first timer. I had a hard time finding the glycerin called for in other recipes. This was very easy to work with and only had to get the geletin. Really had to work in the color that was the most work i had to work it. I will def. be using this recipe again. I did add a tablespoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happily-a-Peterman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Easy recipe to follow.... a little more about how to ensure success in step 2 would help. I had virtually no liquid in the bowl - - it was just powder and would not turn to that paste stage. Was it something I did with the gelatin?? I had to add more water. Also, I recommend adding some flavoring - I added a splash of vanilla and a splash of almond to round the flavor out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Ginbug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celestine
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
It was my first try at making fondant, and even though I don't own a KitchenAid mixer, I made it anyway. I just had to roll up my sleeves and knead away, and it was tough and left me with aching hands and forearms - but so worth it! I did use food coloring and had to knead it in after the initial mixing, but next time I make it (and if I know I need a lot of one color), I will add in the food color at the beginning with the water and gelatin on the stove. Also, when I made it, I didn't use cornstarch at all. I sprayed my hands down with Pam and the table as well where I kneaded the fondant. Next time I make it, I don't think I'll refrigerate it either 'cause it actually made more work for my poor hands & seemed to dry it out more, too. For my first time, I think it went well, considering my lack of kitchen appliances, and I look forward to the next time I get to play with fondant. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celestine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harbor Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
i have two left hands when it comes to things like this but this recipe won't fail you. note though that you need an industrial mixer to make this work - don't burn out your regular one. if it starts to slow down, put on some gloves and mix it by hand. it will roll out just fine this way. my 11 year old daughter made this with me and could roll it out by herself and make shapes. tastes good too but mostly will make you look like you work for the "cake boss" himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by saradonkey74
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Just call me "Cake Boss" with this recipe....so fool proof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
So easy and turned out perfect the first time I made it. I used my kitchenaid and mixed it with the dough hook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, New York, USA
Living In: Wallkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
My first time ever using fondant and this recipe was easy and did a great job! I do not recommend using a cheap mixer. I made that mistake and it blew the engine on it, lucky grandma has a heavy duty cake mixer.Oh and this fondant has a wayyy better flavor than the store bought fondant which is what I was going to do first until I realized how much cheaper it is to just make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
wow, if I only knew it's this easy to make your own fondant...I am going to use cookie cutters to make cut-out to place on cupcakes, it looks like it'd be pretty easy. I haven't colored them because I need a deep color, so I'm using this one as a white fondant. I would only color my own fondant if I need a pastel color otherwise it will take a lot of coloring to get a deep color, at that rate you might as well buy ready made ones. One thing I encountered that was an issue was that I let my gelatin mixture sit too long and it started to solidify, and became hard to mixed in, so I would prepare the mixture when you're already mixing the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States