Rolled Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I followed this word for word and I used less water and 12 cups of confectioners sugar and it was still soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I have never made fondant before but this stuff was perfect! The only change I made was to use corn syrup in place of glucose syrup because I didn't have any. Everything else was the same. I mixed it initially with my KA hand mixer and finished up using a wooden spoon. Kneaded it for a while adding powdered sugar as I went along. It was easy to roll and it tasted much better than the store bought kind. I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Camden, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I am sure it was user error, but this was impossible for me to use without cracking. I think I'll be sticking with traditional buttercream because it was just too hard to eat on the cake. Was tasty though on it's own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and found that more powdered sugar was needed. When I tried rolling it out on the mat it was sticking and so then I sprinkled corn starch on the mat to prevent the sticking - this made the fondant keep cracking while I was rolling and it was really hard to roll and put on top of my cake :) Any suggestions what to do when it sticks to the mat? I suppose corn starch was not the correct idea? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mgsavage
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Worked well..I subbed the glucose with corn syrup and 3 tbsp water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is an excellent recipe! I didn't need the whole 8 cups of sugar, used only 6. Excluded the vanilla from the recipe and used almond extract instead. Made my own syrup using 1/4 cup of water and 1/2 cup of sugar, on medium heat and brought them to a boil, then left to cool. Other than this, followed the exact directions and ingredient quantities in the recipe, and it turned out beautiful. I also used gel colors to color the fondant. Thanks and way to go, really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
i really liked this recipe it was easy and came out great. by the way instead of using a double boiler i simply microwaved it for 30 seconds and it came out fine(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by silentturnip
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Tastes good and easy to work with!! When my fondant seems to be too dry to work with, I rub my hands with shortening and kneed it in. Makes it easy to work with and gives it a shiny look. I've read reviews on substituting corn syrup for the glucose so would just like to comment that I only had 1/4 c of glucose and used 1/4 c of corn syrup and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentturnip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by SLICEOFHEAVEN
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I have used this fondant many times. I replace the glucose syrup with 9 table spoons of light corn syrup and add about 1/2 cups more of powdered sugar. Rolls out soft and it is easy to color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLICEOFHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe, easy to follow, very easy to manipulate. I subbed with Corn syrup, turned out just as good. I also used peppermint flavouring instead of vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States