Rolled Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
was my first try at fondant and i was nervous, but it turned out perfectly. i followed the advice to substitute corn syrup for glucose and veggie oil for glycerin. i also used rum flavoring instead of vanilla. i would definitely recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was my first time and it was fairly easy to make. Make sure you follow the tips given in previous reviews for substitutions. I did have to scrap it though, because I found when I went to roll it out, the wax paper wasnt a large enough surface and it would stick terribly to my countertop when it was rolled off of that..so I plan to try it again when I get one of those roll & cut mats...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal Griffin Whitwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hohenwald, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I am making a Star Wars themed cake for my 4 year old sons birthday and wanted to try a fondant cake. I have absolutely zero experience with it. This recipe was easy to follow, and it turned out reasonably well. However, I tried the Marshmallow Fondant recipe from Wiltons website and it was much easier, cheaper (glycerine for this recipe was 6 dollars at Michaels, whereas the marshmallow recipe doesn't use it), and my wife and I both thought the marshmallow recipe tasted better. The marshmallow recipe was also easier to roll out, and had less of a tendency to crumble, it just seemed for elastic. Overall, this recipe was good, but there are easier ones out there, especially for someone who isn't that experienced at baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IVLANIE
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Perfect! Was looking for an alternative to MM Fondant and this worked beautifully! Super easy to make and great to work with. And I found that I had to knead this fondant much less then all the other recipes I have tried. Have made at least 10 batches in the last month, I never quite use the whole 8 cups of sugar though, usually by like 7 1/2 cups the fondant is a nice workable consistency. Also found that if I want the whole batch to be one color, I just add the food coloring to the cooled gelatin mixture and my batch is a nice solid color once I am done mixing in all the sugar. You can also lightly cover the inside surface of your bowl with shortening for less "stickiness". Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I had never made (or used) fondant, so this was a bit of an experiment for me. However, it turned out great! It even tasted decent. :) I also substituted corn syrup for the glucose and vegetable oil for the glycerin (I couldn't find it) and had no problems with it. I will definitely use this recipe again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by oddy1234
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Okay, so I have been making fondant cakes for over a year. My husband and I do it together. We have used this recipe from the start and would never switch to any other. Some tips when working with this is if you substitute corn syrup for the glucose you MUST add two additional tbls of water when you add the corn syrup. If you do not you will not have the right consistency at the end. Also, when adding coloring to this recipe it is better if you add the color when it is liquid form, and regular liquid based food coloring works best. Wilton food coloring (depending on the color) will actually ruin your fondant. When rolling this out I leave the fondant just a tiny tiny bit tacky and put PS down after every roll I rotate the entire mass of fondant to prevent sticking. The more you rotate it the less PS or Cornstarch you have to use. You can also use shortening (make sure it is not butter flavor because it will turn your fondant a yellowy tint.) Do not use a lot just enough to cover the surface to much will make your fondant soggy and gross. Hope all of this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trinka G
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
An AWESOME recipe! My husband makes cakes on the side but hasn't had the best of luck working with fondant. I saw this recipe and was intrigued. I made it, substituting the glucose syrup with corn syrup and the fondant came out perfectly. I did make it the day before we actually decorated the cake so just put it in a ziplock baggie, squeezed out as much air as possible and left it out on the counter overnight. It was a little stiff the next day but I found if you microwave the fondant - no more than 10 seconds, it becomes pliable and completely easy to work with. A lesson I learned is don't use the cornstarch until you are ready to roll the fondant out. Once the cornstarch gets added to the mix, the fondant gets much stiffer and is prone to cracking.Just keep kneading in that powdered sugar until it is not sticky and use the cornstarch just to roll the stuff out.I flavored my fondant with lemon extract and it tasted like a Skittle candy to me. My husband made a cake for a Cincinera party and we used the fondant to make strips of "ribbon" that ran around the bottom of the cake then enhanced it all with tiny little flowers we cut out with a gum paste cutter. The results was wonderful and I am looking forward to working with fondant more often now that we have had a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheri
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Excellent Fondant!!!! I will use this recipe everytime I want white fondant for a cake. Very easy to make and work with. Way better than the marshmallow fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ambia, Indiana, USA
Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This is the first time I worked with fondant. I did substitute corn syrup for the glucose syrup. I think it came out OK, I was not crazy about the flavor, but then, does fondant ever taste good? It's mostly just to have a nicely decorated cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States