Rolled Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was my second time trying to make homemade fondant. I had tried the marshmallow recipe on this site, but that was a disaster. This recipe worked out so well! I couldn't find glycerin, but the end product seems fine without it. What I also learned was that instead of using powdered sugar to help it not stick to me, but to use shortening on the rolling pin, mat, and my hands. This way it doesn't dry out the fondant! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
this was my first time working with fondant and i loved it!! this recipe was great for me being the first time i tried it! i cant wait to do more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beckie
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Turned out great! I took cake decorating classes at Michaels craft store and started using the storebought Wilton fondant, but really really like the taste of this recipe better. Not hard to make at all! Found glycerin at Michaels in the cake decorating aisle, gelatin at the grocery store by the Jell-o, and used light caro syrup in the baking aisle for the glucose syrup. So much cheaper and better tasting than store-bought. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Lived in Paris for a few years and never worked with this before! Made a lovely Buche de Noel, rolled out beautifully, had to add a little water to get it to work. Definitely a keeper if you really want to make everything from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeyshrimp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
The best rolled fondant I have used. Just be careful in dry weathers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Easy, tastes great and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
this is a very professional recipe, the water and the sugar depends on weather, in rainy days i have to place less water, in dry days, i have to modify also, sometimes with both ingredients... i can play dough with this fondant, have fun...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I thought this was a million times better/easier than the marshmallow fondant. I took the advice on some other reviewers and used corn syrup in place of the glucose. Glycerin was easily found at Micheal's Craft Store. I will never ever buy fondant again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I've made this twice. The second time was much better than the first, so don't give up after just one try. Substituting corn syrup for the glucose was an excellent suggestion. This recipe tastes much better than boxed fondant. I haven't yet mastered a way to prevent the fondant from sticking when rolling it out. Waxed paper was an okay option. Will try cornstartch next. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I have used this recipe repeatedly and it turns out perfectly every time. I sub white corn syrup for glucose and it is still perfect! It is soooooo fun to make critters and flowers, that they are in HUGE demand now.Love, love, love it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States