Rolled Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I'm not sure where I went wrong with this recipe but it did not work at all for covering the cake. It kept cracking while I was working with it and also when I tried to roll it out. I was able to make roses with some of it but it became too frustrating and I eventually just threw the batch out and went and bought some pre-made from Walmart. I was very dissappointed in myself since I know it had to have been something I did considering all the great reviews this fondant received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyDeBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! This was my first time making my own fondant, so I was a little worried. But it turned out beautifully! I ended up needing less sugar than called for though. I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arianna
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
it tastes horrible however is very easy to manage and this is my first fondant cake ever! I have never liked fondat so I like it just cause it looks pretty =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arianna

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I am not sure if I did something wrong but my fondant came out more 'delicate' and less forgiving than the marshmallow ones I have made in the past. When I added the gel color maybe I should have added more sugar? The taste was much better than the marshmall however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is a dream come true! It looks great, tastes great and is easy to work with! Yay! No more yucky marshmallow fondant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Great recipe. First time using fondant, made a cake for a breast cancer fundraiser. So easy to work with and followed the exact recipe, except instead of vanilla, flavoured with raspberry and lemon extract. tasted like candy. Got huge raves frmo everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Laurin Woolsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Where has this recipe been all my life? This rolled fondant is easy, tastes great and best of all it has no nasty chemical preservatives in it that allow it to sit on the shelf of your local craft store for years on end! I will never buy another box of lousy tasting rolled fondant again. I successfully substituted corn syrup for the glucose syrup. Be sure to add your powdered sugar bit by bit to avoid overly dry and cracked fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Wonderful recipe for fondant. Mine rolled out smooth and didn't crack at all. Very easy to work with, even though it was my first time. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is a good recipe. The fondant came out a little soft but that was my fault. I didn't use all the icing sugar that was mentioned in the recipe, but next time I will follow it fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rasberri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I haven't tried this yet, but I plan to. My friend is having a wedding in the middle of summer, so the cake will have to be in the fridge for a while before its brought out. Does anyone know if the fondant sweats when it's refridgerated Will it be okay Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States