Rolled Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
As somebody with allergies, I'm excited to find a fondant recipe that doesn't use corn syrup. Can't wait to try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I'm glad others had success with this but after 3 failed batches I quit. I always had easy, fast success with the marshmallow fondant recipe and went back to that. The ingredients are far less expensive with the marshmallow and I think it tastes good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is the winner on here for Fondant recipes. The Glycerin was hard to come by, I went to a wine shop in the end, but it made it much smoother, and pliable -- so I would suggest it. I made it three times without, and still found it workable, it just had a tendancy to split and crack without the Glycernin. Given the outragious price of prepared fondant, this is a very good option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fish'n'chick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
best fondent ever!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
BTW, if you are not in the US, you may be able to find glycerin at your local chemist. I tried this recipe for the first time while living in Australia, and that is where I was able to find it the easiest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Didn't taste good. Proportions were off. Needed a lot more powdered sugar than it called for, otherwise too sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I kinda struggled when trying to roll it and cover the cake. I have never done fondant before. I had no idea how to move it from the counter to the cake. It kept stretching and tearing when I tried to pick it up. Is it because I need to add or reduce something? or is there a special technique for moving it to the cake?? (I had read the reviews and used corn syrup instead of glucose and reduced the water to 3 Tbs.) I eventually made it work, but it was a pain and didn't come out perfect (had a few tears)... Otherwise, I really liked the recipe. Easy enough for a first-timer like me ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Made fondant for the first time today using this recipe. Very easy to do. I recommend having all the ingrediants measured and waiting prior to beginning. The original recipe was the perfect amount to cover a pumpkin-shaped double bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
For those of you having trouble with fondant sticking, try lightly dusting a bit of corn starch on the working station. I've used mats which don't seem to work very well and I find that using a crisco can make the fondant so greasy and gives it a gloss you may not want
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liv

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Velveteenrabbit
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe but used light vanilla flavored cornsyrup instead of glucose and only 3 tbls of water instead of 1/4 cp. And it turned out perfect! But I realized It's a over estimation of sugar. I guess to handle it and to add in to get the right consistency. My first time with this recipe and I'm in love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Velveteenrabbit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States