Rolled Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Its sooooo nice to not do mm fondant! I hate it! Its chewy and does not taste good. This on the other hand is amazing. It melts in your mouth and rolls out like a dream in comparison to mm fondant. It is more time consuming and a little more expensive but its worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
As somebody with allergies, I'm excited to find a fondant recipe that doesn't use corn syrup. Can't wait to try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I'm glad others had success with this but after 3 failed batches I quit. I always had easy, fast success with the marshmallow fondant recipe and went back to that. The ingredients are far less expensive with the marshmallow and I think it tastes good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is the winner on here for Fondant recipes. The Glycerin was hard to come by, I went to a wine shop in the end, but it made it much smoother, and pliable -- so I would suggest it. I made it three times without, and still found it workable, it just had a tendancy to split and crack without the Glycernin. Given the outragious price of prepared fondant, this is a very good option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Beaton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
best fondent ever!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
BTW, if you are not in the US, you may be able to find glycerin at your local chemist. I tried this recipe for the first time while living in Australia, and that is where I was able to find it the easiest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Didn't taste good. Proportions were off. Needed a lot more powdered sugar than it called for, otherwise too sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I kinda struggled when trying to roll it and cover the cake. I have never done fondant before. I had no idea how to move it from the counter to the cake. It kept stretching and tearing when I tried to pick it up. Is it because I need to add or reduce something? or is there a special technique for moving it to the cake?? (I had read the reviews and used corn syrup instead of glucose and reduced the water to 3 Tbs.) I eventually made it work, but it was a pain and didn't come out perfect (had a few tears)... Otherwise, I really liked the recipe. Easy enough for a first-timer like me ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Made fondant for the first time today using this recipe. Very easy to do. I recommend having all the ingrediants measured and waiting prior to beginning. The original recipe was the perfect amount to cover a pumpkin-shaped double bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
For those of you having trouble with fondant sticking, try lightly dusting a bit of corn starch on the working station. I've used mats which don't seem to work very well and I find that using a crisco can make the fondant so greasy and gives it a gloss you may not want
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liv

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States