Rolled Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I read somewhere else that to prevent the fondant from sticking to your board/table mix corn starch with confectioners sugar and use it as "flour" like you are making a pie. I also found a website that shows how you can make roses with the fondant just by cutting out a thin strip of fondant maybe the size of a watch band and rolling it. It looks pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lakhena05

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA
Photo by DitzyDame
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I use cornstarch on my mat instead of the shortening. Works awesome!! I've used this recipe hundreds of times! And for "lotzoflove" who asked about the coloring... instead of food coloring try color gel or paste. They work much better and give brighter colors (found at walmart or any cake supply). Also, any flavoring works well. Many people complain the taste isn't that great, but let's face it... fondant never tastes that great. Play around with the flavor. I tend to use an orange extract as long as it doesn't interfere with the flavor of cake I'm making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
this was the first time i ever used fondant and i loved it . it was so much fun and made such a buetiful b-day cake for my daughter. learning how much sugar to add and when it was ready to handle was the only challenge (and getting such a large piece over my cake) i am getting ready to use tonight for a valentine cake. p.s. the lady at the cake store told me i wouldnt be able to do fondant. ha!!! i will not be discouraged :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I always wanted to try making fondant and I love this recipe for my first attempt. Very happy with the results. For LOTZOFLOVE question about color, use food coloring to make the colors you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toya
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I am a rookie! However I thought it would have been much easier but for a first timer I thought it came out pretty good. Just very time consuming. Also if it wasn't cracking it was sticky. Very hard to get it just right to roll out. Overall it was a success. My cake turned out pretty amazing! Will use again just when I have someone to watch my 4month old! Also If anyone is wondering where to get glycerin, glucose, and icing colouring BULK BARN is great. I found everything for this recipe there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toya
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I had a question for this recipe. Mostly it's to know how to get the bright pink, orange, yellow, green, purple, blue, red, and black colors for this fondant? If you know how can you write a review with the answer? I really like the colors on the fun circles cake of the photos for this recipe. (cook is Bluebugame)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
i highly recommend this fondant recipe. If using corn syrup only use three tbs of water. It turns out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is a great recipe, and thanx so much for the tip about the corn syrup and reducing the water! If you are looking for glycerin the sell it where you buy wine supplies...it is also way cheaper then buying the wiltons. As for the flavoring i've used wiltons clear butter extract and people seem to love it. It also smells really good too!! ~L~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
THIS CAME OUT SO BEAUTIFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by ibam12
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Easy to work with, looks great, complements the soury taste of lemon cake really really well... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibam12

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States