Rolled Flank Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Wow, this is a great recipe! I was a little worried while it cooked because it smelled like nothing but soy sauce, but once it was done, my DH was using a spoon to get all the juices out of the baking dish! I used a little less EVOO and only marinated for two hours and I think that was plenty. I used about half the cheese called for and no red bell pepper (hate that stuff!) I took other reviewers advice and left out the bacon and secured it with toothpicks instead of twine. I thought all that olive oil kept it moist enough without adding more fat with bacon grease! I cooked it for 50 minutes at 350 degrees and it was a tiny bit on the dry side so watch your oven and don't go over the 145 internal temp recommended by the poster of this recipe. I can't wait to make this again, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I'm sure this is great as is, but I didn't have some of these things so this is what I did: I had some milanese steaks (SUPER thin-cut steak), lined them with thin sliced provolone, lined that with fresh baby spinach, rolled it up tight, wrapped it tightly with raw bacon, pinned it with toothpicks and laid it in the casserole dish on its side. Then I drizzled it with worcestershire and sprinkled it with garlic powder, fresh ground black pepper, a pinch of thyme and paprika. Then just cook to temp. Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
What a great dish! The flavors combine perfectly and the steak just melts in your mouth. I will definitely be making this again, it was a huge hit with my entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
First of all, this is a 5 star recipe all the way. I made a few minor changes that I feel make a huge difference. Cook your bacon first. I cooked mine to the point of almost crispy. Then I wilted my fresh spinach leaves in the bacon grease. I also roasted and peeled the skin on my red peppers prior to slicing. I cooked my rolled contraption in the oven until 142 degrees internal temp (145 would be too done for our taste) and let rest for 15 minutes. Sprinkle parsley over the top and serve. The meat was SO tender you didn’t need a knife to cut it. These simple changes make such a difference in this dish. It turns it into something you’d expect to see at a very nice restaurant. This is an absolutely wonderful recipe and SO easy to make. Thank you so much for sharing this with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I made this for dinner last night and it was awesome! I'm sure it would have been even better if I'd followed the directions exactly, but I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, so I had to improvise a little. And I only marinated it for 1 hour before cooking and it was still great. Can't wait to try this again- thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I used the teriyaki marinade recipe from the Teriyaki-Flank-Steak recipe and then followed this recipe's directions for making the roll. It was both delicious and eye-pleasing. TIP: Make sure you have a meat thermometer because there's no other way to correctly determine if the dish is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Followed recipe exactly and it was amazing. Everyone enjoyed. The only recommendation I would make is to cook the bacon a bit before as it won't cook all they way once rolled into the steak. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Marinating overnite is way too long. Tasted too much like beef jerky when marinated that long. Will try again but will reduce the marinating time to about 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgadison
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
These were fantastic! I was going to take a picture, but we ate them too fast. I do have a couple of suggestions, though. I used a package of thin cut flank steak, that was cut into individual servings (super cheap). I think it took a little more time, because I had to roll each individual steak, but it was definitely worth it. I used toothpicks to hold them together, three for each. They were easy to put in and easy to take out. The bacon didn't cook all of the way, so I would suggest cooking the bacon half-way first and then layering it on top of the steak pieces. The flavors were outstanding, the presentation was beautiful, and we will be making this again! Thank you for developing and sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Delicious! I'm not a fan of provolone so I used cream cheese with chives and onion instead. I can't imagine eating this any other way. It took 50 minutes in my oven. Next time I will cook the bacon slightly but other than that and the cheese change, we loved it! Thank you for an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States