Rolled Flank Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Crazy good! Precook the bacon, and try with roasted red peppers. I also just used standard white mushrooms instead of crimini. I used Lawry's seasoning salt because I wasn't exactly sure what "steak seasoning" was. The recipe was incredible and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This dish was EXCELLENT! I made it tonight for dinner and my wife and I both cleaned our plates. I marinated the steak for 2 hours and used feta instead of provolone cheese. I also pounded it out a little to tenderize the steak. Very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
First of all, this is a 5 star recipe all the way. I made a few minor changes that I feel make a huge difference. Cook your bacon first. I cooked mine to the point of almost crispy. Then I wilted my fresh spinach leaves in the bacon grease. I also roasted and peeled the skin on my red peppers prior to slicing. I cooked my rolled contraption in the oven until 142 degrees internal temp (145 would be too done for our taste) and let rest for 15 minutes. Sprinkle parsley over the top and serve. The meat was SO tender you didn’t need a knife to cut it. These simple changes make such a difference in this dish. It turns it into something you’d expect to see at a very nice restaurant. This is an absolutely wonderful recipe and SO easy to make. Thank you so much for sharing this with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was a major hit at our last family gathering. The presentation factor was huge! It's really easy to make too; the hardest part of it was butterflying the steak. If you can't get your butcher to do it, just make sure you have a super sharp knife!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
WoW! This (with a few very very minor modifications to accomodate the ingredients I had on hand and to take a few reviewer suggestions) was a HUGE hit here! One of the technical changes I made was to cut the steak into smaller pieces. This made it easier to butterfly and I just made sort of smaller, individual servings instead. My family is already asking when we are having this again. Seriously though if you have a meat-loving family, DON'T OMIT THE BACON! I pre-cooked it just a bit and I think it's responsible for the great way it was received by my guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandagorby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alicia101584
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
My family raved on this recipe. This looks harder than it really was to make. It's beautiful yet full of flavor. I don't like to change a recipe on the first try but I didnt use the bacon and used roasted red bell pepper instead of fresh. Also I thinly sliced some red onion for that extra oomf. LOVE LOVE LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia101584

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was an excellent recipe! The only thing I did different was I used a 1/3 (strong) bleu cheese to 2/3 provolone mix--I didn't want to overpower the whole dish, but I definitely wanted some bleu cheese with this steak. Also, I can't stand bell pepper, but I left it in because my father likes them (and this was a Father's Day meal)...and I'm happy to report that the flavor (surprisingly) played well with everything else. I can't help but feel like it's missing something...maybe a couple sprigs of mint or cilantro (I'm 1/2 Thai, so that's my taste). All-in-all, however, this has been one of the best recipes I've found on this website. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I made this for a birthday dinner and it was WONDERFUL! I couldn't believe it! The meat was a bit tough on the outside but it tasted great and was very juicey on the inside. The cheese did melt out more than I had hope so next time I make this I will close off all sides but it was worth all the time and effort. I used two 1 pound steaks and they still turned out great. I would recomend this for any one who wants something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
My family loved this meal. I followed the directions exactly as written. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This turned out FANTASTIC! The hardest part (for me) was butterflying the steak. I followed the recipe pretty closely - I decided to microwave the bacon strips for about 1.5 minutes (great tip). The only other difference was that I used jarred roasted red pepper instead of raw and left out the mushrooms (we don't like them). The meat's flavor came out really good - I let it marinade for about 5-6 hours and cooked it for the full hour. Weber makes a great Chicago steak seasoning that may have helped - my husband doesn't usually like flank steak but he said that this recipe made him a believer! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swat99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States