Rolled Flank Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This turned out FANTASTIC! The hardest part (for me) was butterflying the steak. I followed the recipe pretty closely - I decided to microwave the bacon strips for about 1.5 minutes (great tip). The only other difference was that I used jarred roasted red pepper instead of raw and left out the mushrooms (we don't like them). The meat's flavor came out really good - I let it marinade for about 5-6 hours and cooked it for the full hour. Weber makes a great Chicago steak seasoning that may have helped - my husband doesn't usually like flank steak but he said that this recipe made him a believer! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swat99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Everyone loved this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This was so good. I use hormone free meat which I have found to have more flavor anyway. I used roasted red peppers and prosciutto instead of bacon - very very thin. I did think it was a little salty though. Maybe the steak seasoning made it a little salty. Other than that- I thought it was wonderful and may make it for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This was great - the flavors blended very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Mine was perfect right at about 50 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I made this for my husband and kids for Valentine's Day and they were very impressed. It's a fun recipe, looks impressive with little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This recipe is pretty much the same as an Italian meatloaf recipe on the web that we love to make. The only difference is the meat and the use of bacon. This recipe is easy to prep and overall the flavors are good. After serving and having a few bites the one thing my wife and I immediately agreed on what to use prosciutto instead of thick sliced bacon. The bacon fat didn't render at all and remained thick and stringy. Perhaps cooking it first in a skillet would improve that. Still, using prosciutto seems a better choice to add the desired flavors. Also, we found layering the Provolone cheese slices made it too thick once everything else was on, thus making it harder to roll. Next time we'll shape the slices to fit evenly without overlap, which is how we do the Italian meatloaf. Lastly, for this particular flank steak recipe, we're going to try adding a topping of fire roasted tomato sauce with garlic to increase the "pop" this dish should have. All in all, this is a decent, basic rolled flank steak recipe and easy to modify to your own tastes and health standards. Good job, Angelshark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
DELICIOUS!! I doubled this recipe for 6 couples for a Valentine's dinner. I do not like provolone, so I substituted onion and chive cream cheese. YUMMY!! I also had the butcher run the steak through the meat tenderizer then I pounded it out just a bit before marinating. Served with a strawberry, spinach, walnut, parmesean salad with balsamic dressing, tomato fetta bread, grilled asparagus, cous cous, and finished it off with the white chocolate raspberry cheesecake from this site! My friends were so impressed with this meal! My husband was sooo bummed that there were not any left overs! SO EASY AND DELICIOUS!!! THNANK YOU!!! This will always be served at my dinner parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States