Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
It was okay but it had a really salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This is REALLY easy to make, and it's fairly easy to work with. I couldn't get it to roll out right on its own so I rolled it between two sheets of wax paper. My kitchen is kind of hot so before I put the fondant on, I popped it in the freezer till it was more firm. As far as the flavor, I liked that it took salt since that gave it a little more taste than pure sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fyrlys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kunming, Yunnan Province, China
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I LOVE THIS!!! Have never used fondant before and it was amazing!!! I used a rolling pin to roll out up and get in on my cake, worked perfectly!!! Well be using this for the rest of my life!!!! :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Tastes great, but very greasy and soft. Trouble holding sculpted shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kenyshasmith
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Amazing! I will never make birthday cakes the same again. My son trey wanted a Jake and Neverland pirate cake....I always make our cakes but when making my own icing it would always bleed or blend the picture. Found this recipe and loved all the tips everyone wrote helped ALOT: rolling f.icing in between 2wax papers making it easier to roll flat and not stick. 2. Use Betty crocker Gel colors cake decorators in order to dye the icing . I made fondant then divided in bowls and added colors needed in each bowl. 3. Take time don't rush! I stayed up until 3 am. All kids sleeping plenty of time to work. Love this recipe and way it makes cake look smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
It tastes just amazing! I have tried it 4-6 times but it becomes very oily and cracks a lot when i roll it on to the cake. I tried using extra icing sugar, some cornflour and also tried to roll it on the wax paper. Please help me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by evilobaker
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This recipe was awful, it kept cracking, and was to oily. I could not even get it off my work space with out it ripping, no matter how much sugar I put under it. I would NOT use this recipe. I eventually got it on the cake but, it was cracking and lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Made the fondant greasy could taste the salt and kept breaking apart. Would never put anything like that on one of my cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alstubbs98
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This is a great recipe! Only a couple things I added 1/2 tsp butter flavor & 1/2 tsp of almond flavor. I've also found the best shortening for icings is the cheap walmart brand shortening (not the vegetable) it doesn't leave a greasy after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alstubbs98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
NOT a good recipe if you are trying to cover a cake entirely. I could barely get off working surface without it falling apart. There is no strength or elasticity to this "fondant". No matter how long you let rest, place in fridge or adding extra sugar- it does not help. Stick to small cut shapes and decorations with this recipe. Dies taste better than traditional fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States