Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Mary Grace
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I used this for a birthday cake, it turned out really good for my first time. It rolled out pretty good and I was able to make some really pretty flat style flowers. When it came to vines it was hard to get them as thin as I wanted with out having them brake all the time. (I was wrapping them around the side so couldn't let them try or they would crack when I put them on.) I recommend 48 hours of drying for any more delicate work if it it going to be used on top of the cake. And this will not work for dynamic pop out flowers. Remember that is this butter cream and is a bit harder to work with then marshmallow because it is greaser and wetter. BUT, It taste allot better then traditional Fondant in my opinion! I will most definitely be using this again. Thought probably more as just the base, and then using Marshmallow for the more delicate stuff. (great for simple cut out shapes though.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Super easy, super delicious. I don't generally like fondant, but this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica Swords
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This recipe is amazing! I have never worked with fondant before...but this was super easy to work with. I did end up having to add about another pound of powered sugar because it was greasy. And when applying it to the cake, it did crack a little. I think I may have rolled it out too thin. But all in all, this was a very good recipe to start out with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Swords

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I followed the directions exactly and all it did was crumble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by starbirdfbnbg
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Works pretty well and tastes better than most fondant. Finished product is rather greasy, but I was going for a cartoon look anyway so it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I have to say I used this fondant a few times and every time I had to replace it and use something different, it is very greasy and falls apart way to easily. It is definitely a nice easy fondant recipe without all the horrible ingredients (glucose, glycerin etc.) And also it tastes great! It is just to greasy and hard to apply.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
It is smooth and easy to make. It even tastes better than all the other fondants combined. First time using it this way. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This was so easy, and unlike many other fondant recipes it did not require any chill time. I got so many compliments on how delicious it was! It cuts easily and takes gel food color really well. This is my new go-to recipe for fondant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
For those who get cracks, use some shortening on your fingers to smooth them out and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
this is a fantasitic recipe. so easy to work with and tastes great! i recently used for my kids birthday cakes and got tons of complements. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States