Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
The fondant didn't taste like buttercream frosting to me, it tasted a little weird. It is easy to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This recipe is useless!!! I have previously used marshmallow fondant with great success. My daughter is not a fan of the taste of that though so I used this recipe.BIG mistake. It is greasy and fall apart to easily. There was no way to decorate a four layer cake with it. It is like play-dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
A fondant that doesn't taste like play dough. Fantastic to work with and incredibly cheaper to make than most recipes I have tried previously. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe and it did not come out correct at all! It was way too greasy and it just fell apart when I tried to move it to the cake. One second I would be rolling it out and adding a little powdered sugar at a time to try to get it to stop being sticky and greasy but it seemed like what ever I did nothing would help. I am not super experienced in fondant but this was really bad. On the brighter side it did taste very similar to buttercream frosting, so if you can get it to work for you then more power to you and a good tasting fondant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah.kindermann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loyalton, California, USA
Living In: Moncks Corner, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Exactly the look I wanted and even taste great!! I did tweek the recipe and used butter flavored shortening because it was all I had. My kids love buttercream frosting but I wanted the look of fondant. I JUST started baking 'pretty' cakes and I will keep using this recipe. -Tif
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This recipe didn't work for me and I'm a professional baker. It was so soft and sticky I could not use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Great taste... just very oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krystalgurrola29
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was my first fondant cake and it really didnt taste that great i was really hoping for the buttercream taste and it didnt taste like buttercream. I did like that after needing it for a while that it was very easy to use. i didnt like that it was so greasy but it did give it a great shine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krystalgurrola29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Chubbuck, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Just made this recipe. It was very easy to make but I don't think it tastes like buttercream, it tastes more like divinity. I like divinity but was disapointed as I was expecting a buttercream flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan F
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is exactly what I've been looking for!! For years, I've made the Allrecipes Best Rolled Sugar Cookies recipe in combination with a basic buttercream (butter + shortening + vanilla + confectioner's sugar + a splash of milk). While the flavor was always fantastic, it has always bugged me that I could never get a smooth and neat looking cookie like with fondant. Plus, the buttercream never sets, so the cookies weren't stackable. Enter this new Buttercream Fondant recipe. This has the flavor of buttercream and the moldability of fondant! I found that I was able to roll the fondant pretty thin, and use my cookie cutters to get the exact shape of the cookies, and then just place them on top of the cookie with a thin layer of traditional buttercream underneath to help it stick. I took the advice of several reviewers and used half butter and half shortening for better flavor, and added food coloring while combining the corn syrup/butter/shortening. A few times, I had trouble lifting the fondant onto the cookie without it being a little flimsy and tearing. I found that it helped to work on a sheet of parchment paper on a cutting board, so I could stick the whole thing in the freezer for a few minutes first, making it firmer and much easier to pick up and move onto the cookies. I only found it to get greasy after handling it a lot. My taste testers seemed pretty impressed by my new fancy stackable cookies! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States