Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by SixPoundSkillet
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Thank you for a fondant recipe that doesn't require expensive chemicals. I wasn't able to wrap it around my rolling pin per the video, so I rolled it flat onto a cookie sheet, chilled for 5 minutes, and flipped upside-down onto my cake. I found it easier to do larger shapes than details, this fondant wants to go jagged if you're not doing straight lines or using a cookie cutter. Overall, I am grateful for this simple recipe designed for those of us who don't rely on gizmos and gadgets and chemicals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SixPoundSkillet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
seriously the worst fondant I have ever used. It was so greasy and ripped every time I tried to use it. I definitely would not recommend anyone waste the ingredients to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I have used this recipe for the past 3 years to make my daughters birthday cakes. The only thing I can say is that the fondant tastes so yummy that i have to hid it from my husband or he eats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
terrible taste!!!... also, no matter how many times I kneaded the dough, it still broke apart once I rolled it out and tried to lay it on the cake. I think it asked for way too much shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonidlg38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Loved it!!! Definetly will use this over and over again. My daughter went nuts over it on her bday cake, and my family loves it too. Its quick, simple and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
The fondant didn't taste like buttercream frosting to me, it tasted a little weird. It is easy to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This recipe is useless!!! I have previously used marshmallow fondant with great success. My daughter is not a fan of the taste of that though so I used this recipe.BIG mistake. It is greasy and fall apart to easily. There was no way to decorate a four layer cake with it. It is like play-dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
A fondant that doesn't taste like play dough. Fantastic to work with and incredibly cheaper to make than most recipes I have tried previously. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe and it did not come out correct at all! It was way too greasy and it just fell apart when I tried to move it to the cake. One second I would be rolling it out and adding a little powdered sugar at a time to try to get it to stop being sticky and greasy but it seemed like what ever I did nothing would help. I am not super experienced in fondant but this was really bad. On the brighter side it did taste very similar to buttercream frosting, so if you can get it to work for you then more power to you and a good tasting fondant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah.kindermann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loyalton, California, USA
Living In: Moncks Corner, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Exactly the look I wanted and even taste great!! I did tweek the recipe and used butter flavored shortening because it was all I had. My kids love buttercream frosting but I wanted the look of fondant. I JUST started baking 'pretty' cakes and I will keep using this recipe. -Tif
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States