Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bluerider
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Definitely delicious! I reached the "silky play dough" stage around 1.5lb sugar, and should have stopped there. I stayed true to the recipe and used the full 2lb. Probably why I had so much cracking :( I'll make this again! Check out youtube vids on fondant marbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I made a couple adjustments, one because of ingredients I didn't have, and another because I had read other reviews and was trying to think about how to overcome some shortfalls of the recipe as written. First, I used honey in place of the corn syrup, because of not having the latter. It's a well-established substitution, so I doubt anything fundamental changed about the outcome because of it. Second, after I added the amount of confectioner's sugar called for, I began to add flour until the desired consistency of the dough was achieved. I think it absorbed some of the greasiness better than continuing to use sugar. True, it was still a bit greasy, but plenty workable. This was my first time using fondant or anything like it, so I won't pin down any flaw in my cake decor on the recipe, rather on my inexperience. tl;dr recipe worked just fine, but isn't superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
this fondant is so greasy yuo can barely use it not only was it greasy but it cracked fell apart and stuck to everything i tried all the tips shown in the reviews and nothing helped i let it set for two hours i even tried refrigerating maybe in a dryer climate than where i am would make this better but as it stands i won't be using this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I have been reading the reviews on this recipe and am game to give it a try... I see that is serves 45.... OK, so how does this break down to serving size for an 8-9 inch round double layer cake or 2 8X8 square pans.... you get the idea thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeAnn Clark-Edwards

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
The consistency for this fondant is too greasy and keeps falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
It tasted good but was to difficult to handle it cracked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nordia Henriques

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I can see this going well on a cake, it was a perfect consistency even when rolled thin. I followed this recipe exactly with no problems. I've seen this type of coating before and wondered what it was. But now I would have no trouble making it again as well as coloring it. VERY Satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I am SO very glad that I used this recipe on my "practice" cake for my son's first birthday. I read the poor reviews and thought that if I were really careful and followed the advice of the people writing good reviews that I could make it work. WRONG!! All of the things that other people are saying are 100% true - too greasy, impossible to get onto the cake and non-recoverable with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Graham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Easy to make and tasted great! Good recipe for aspiring kid bakers. Enough for 3 or more colors to make awesome creations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Ill stick with store bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States