Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This recipe was way to greasy and it continued to crack and fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This is an incredible fondant recipe, especially for beginners. I used almond extract in place of the vanilla, and people raved about how delicious it was. I've never liked fondant, but this made me a believer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I love this recipe. It is super easy!! I had never used fondant and made an awesome cake the first try with this recipe. I did use half the amt of crisco (like other reviews suggested) I also use the hook of the stand mixer which I am sure makes it much easier to make. My kids love the taste. I had no promblems with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This recipe was a life saver! Normally i buy the shop fondant to roll but the shelves were empty! I had to use Golden Syrup as an alternative to corn syrup as I live in Malta and couldn't find that either - but all worked out in the end and I am very grateful :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaisyPersian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mekala
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Excellent fondant...Tasted very good compared to the ones that use gelatin. But the only issue was it was too soft. Other than that, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
The fondant never got firm no matter how much confectioners sugar I added. I couldn't pick it up after I rolled it out because it was so soft, even after I refrigerated it for a while. I eventually did manage to roll it out and put in on the cake but it had to be really thick. Tasted great though. Good recipe if you're in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stephenville, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This is truly a controversial recipe here at All Recipes.com. I examined the ingredients listed prior to making this recipe, twice. From my understanding of the ingredients I was skeptical about the 4 and 5 star ratings and some of the claims for the recipes application to real kitchen usability. There was a number of reviewing bakers with experience levels that warranted my attention to the strong criticism. My goal was a chocolate fondant to be placed as a "sheet" on top of a Parker House Boston Cream Pie. The first time I followed the"Rolled Butter Cream Fondant" recipe exactly as written. I found it completely unusable. The taste of uncooked shortening and the greasy consistency made it inedible and impossible to roll out as a typical fondant. I used a chilled marble top and specialty rolling pin and I was not able to obtain anything close to the texture of a chilled fondant for wrapping a cake. The only possible use for this recipe would be for details on a "faux" cake for display. The second time I attempted several modifications suggested by some of the 4 and 5 star reviewers. Even with partially replacing butter for half the shortening and modifying the amount of the corn syrup with powdered sugar left the results as unpalatable and unable to roll out to a thin sheet. How anyone could claim this as a true fondant or even as an acceptable replacement is beyond me. I went back to my tried and true marshmallow based fondant recipe from All Recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
When i made this, this was my first project ever doing something similar or like this. Tasted great and i didn't have any problems. Was pretty easy for first time doing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica L Ingram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Grace
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I used this for a birthday cake, it turned out really good for my first time. It rolled out pretty good and I was able to make some really pretty flat style flowers. When it came to vines it was hard to get them as thin as I wanted with out having them brake all the time. (I was wrapping them around the side so couldn't let them try or they would crack when I put them on.) I recommend 48 hours of drying for any more delicate work if it it going to be used on top of the cake. And this will not work for dynamic pop out flowers. Remember that is this butter cream and is a bit harder to work with then marshmallow because it is greaser and wetter. BUT, It taste allot better then traditional Fondant in my opinion! I will most definitely be using this again. Thought probably more as just the base, and then using Marshmallow for the more delicate stuff. (great for simple cut out shapes though.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Super easy, super delicious. I don't generally like fondant, but this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 628) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States