Roll-Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Just made these cookies! I am surprised at how many had NO problem rolling the dough. My dough was crumbly. I tried adding more flour, but did not want to add too much they would taste like flour. Still crumbly. I followed directions. Used butter. The few I got baked tasted ok. Will try once more. Any hints to make rolling easier???? I will try the parchment paper trick too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This recipe is terrific! The dough handles really well & was easy enough for my 5 & 3 year olds to help me. It also translates nicely to a dairy/egg free recipe with dairy free margerine & a baker's egg substitute as I have a nephew who has egg & dairy allergies. The egg/dairy free dough is a bit lighter & stickier, & needs a bit more flour on the rolling surface & rolling pin, but otherwise just as easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I was SO disappointed with this recipe. The dough was way too dry and crumbly. The cookies fell apart, and the lemon was too overpowering. So, I continue my quest for the perfect cookie-cutter cookie recipe : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
these are great...never had much luck with rolled cookies and i am not an expert baker. i followed the suggestion and used almond extract instead of lemon. i have made this recipe 3 times now..and the results are consistant simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenchaosinBC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I used this recipe as my first attempt to make cut-out cookies. It is so easy - even my first batch turned out wonderfully! I have made them several times since. In my opinion, they taste better than other cut-out cookies I have eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
These are pretty good. They have a very subtle flavor. My mother thought they had no taste, but the rest of the family liked them. They're also pretty easy to make and don't stick. I'd use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Amazing! Shapes came out perfect and my kids had the best time decorating them. They were very yummy and butter. I didn't have lemon extract, so i just added another 1/2 tsp of vanilla, so good! Will definetly be my go to recipe from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was easy! It's a great shortbread cookie mix. I used maple flavoring instead of lemon and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura
Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
LOVED IT! It was perfect to eat the cookies just plain with some coffee. Turned out much like a biscotti cookie. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Easiest roll out cookie recipe ever! As long as you flour your surface well and use a floured cookie spatula you will have a wonderful and stress free cookie making experience! :) I omitted the Lemon extract and used Almond extract instead. They are delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States