Rogan Josh, Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was delicious-but I had to make a few changes bc my kids don't like lamb. Used two beef shanks and one porterhouse steak, 2 carrots sliced and 2 stalks of celery sliced and one cubed Idaho potato instead of anything canned. Didn't have cardamom so put in a 1/2 tsp of fennel seed, cumin and turmeric. I added garlic slivers. Browned the meat with two cloves of garlic, slivered, and then followed the steps of the recipe. But when it came time to put the vegies in I added 2 cups of beef broth (better than buillion and water), a bay leaf bc it was beef based and beef shanks are much bigger than lamb shanks. If I were to change anything from my modifications it would be 1 cup of beef broth. Otherwise it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
What I cooked by following this recipe literally was disappointing, although my wife liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
We enjoyed this although it was a bit greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Made this with a cubed pot roast (as I am the only lamb fan in the family) and it was well received. I also subbed yogurt for the sour cream as it breaks down tough cuts very nicely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This was really tasty, and I loved making it in a crock pot because I could just leave it overnight and it was ready to go! The sauce was slightly sweet and tangy, which was slightly surprising, but the tangy with the savoury meat was a good combination. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Does this really take 8 hours on HIGH? That's about twice as long as most recipes for lamb shanks, isn't it? Was this an error and it should be 8 hours on LOW? Hope so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very tender meat and savory sauce. I am sensitive to all milk products so I used non-dairy 'sour cream.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
What a disappointment!!! Not even close to being an "Indian" dish. Turned into a big pot of grease. I can't believe the reviews. The flavors weren't enough for this much lamb. Also, why use canned carrots and potatoes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I altered the recipe alot! I added 1 tsp chopped chillies, 1 tbsp of garam masala, an extra tin of tomatoes, fresh cherry tomatoes & I left out the carrots and mushrooms ( I just couldn't add them to a rogan josh!) I don't have a slow cooker so I browned the lamb shank & then added the sauce & veg - simmered it for 4 hours & the meat fell off the bone. I kept the potatoes large and it took this length of time to cook them perfectly. We enjoyed it with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
this was very good, nothing at all like the rogan josh you get at an indian restraunt but the sauce was incredible... i used lamb steaks instead of shanks because i didnt have any shanks and the meat itself wasnt that great but thats definitely not because of the recipe.. it was just full of fat and bones... next time i will use either lamb shanks or a big lump of beef.... definitely making this again... great flavor and it smells incredible when its cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States