Rogan Josh, Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
After scanning this recipe I made changes according to what I had in the fridge (no carrots and no mushrooms). I have to say, this meal tastes fantastic. I think it's because of the spice combination and the slow cooking. Normally my husband doesn't like slow cooker meals but he rated this A+ - I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
this was very good, nothing at all like the rogan josh you get at an indian restraunt but the sauce was incredible... i used lamb steaks instead of shanks because i didnt have any shanks and the meat itself wasnt that great but thats definitely not because of the recipe.. it was just full of fat and bones... next time i will use either lamb shanks or a big lump of beef.... definitely making this again... great flavor and it smells incredible when its cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This is an awsome recipe. My 9 year old even loved it. Tasted a lot like beef stew. No "gamey" lamb flavor to it. I used fresh red new potatoes and baby carrots. I also substituted the whole cardamom with 1/8 teaspoon ground cardamom since I had none whole. Excellent use of lamb shanks if you don't know what to do with them!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BoysMomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Wonderful! I made this on a rainy, cold Sunday and it was perfect. I would not change a thing. This recipe is flavorful, but not spicy. It is well worth the wait- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Laughlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Confession: I gathered most of the ingredients for this at the grocery store before I arrived at the lamb section and balked at the prices (yes, I'm a lamb newbie). So, I made the recipe with 12 lbs. (triple batch) of beef short ribs instead for my family today (Christmas Eve). They loved it! Amazing how the ingredients still result in a very down-home midwestern beef stew impression. Nice, rich blend of flavors! Good "bad weather trapped indoors" food. :) Space caveat, though: took me 2 crock pots plus 1 pot on the stove (to accomodate the potatoes) to make the triple batch. Will definitely make this again! Reheats nicely with a little mozzarella and/or provolone on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Just a tip(s) for the person who thought the lamb was too greasy. --Brown the lamb shanks well before placing in tomato mixture. Browning helps melt excess fat and enhances the flavor. --When done cooking, cool and refrigerate overnight. Skim the excess fat from the surface, then reheat. It tastes even better the second day. Love the spice combo. It really makes the dish sing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very tender meat and savory sauce. I am sensitive to all milk products so I used non-dairy 'sour cream.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This got 4 stars because my husband gives it 3 1/2 and I give it 4 1/2... Very easy to prepare provided you have the spices on hand. It was hard for me to imagine how this would taste but it comes together very nicely and you don't end up with any one of the flavors overpowering the others. I have a hard time imagining the person who wouldn't like this. The "broth" would also be great with beef, or I could even see it with a heavier fish, like salmon. We cooked this in a dutch oven for 3 hours at 350 degrees and it was perfect. We used two concentrated broth pouches instead of the bullion just out of preference. Otherwise we followed the recipe just as it is. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Does this really take 8 hours on HIGH? That's about twice as long as most recipes for lamb shanks, isn't it? Was this an error and it should be 8 hours on LOW? Hope so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was delicious-but I had to make a few changes bc my kids don't like lamb. Used two beef shanks and one porterhouse steak, 2 carrots sliced and 2 stalks of celery sliced and one cubed Idaho potato instead of anything canned. Didn't have cardamom so put in a 1/2 tsp of fennel seed, cumin and turmeric. I added garlic slivers. Browned the meat with two cloves of garlic, slivered, and then followed the steps of the recipe. But when it came time to put the vegies in I added 2 cups of beef broth (better than buillion and water), a bay leaf bc it was beef based and beef shanks are much bigger than lamb shanks. If I were to change anything from my modifications it would be 1 cup of beef broth. Otherwise it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States