Rogan Josh, Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was delicious-but I had to make a few changes bc my kids don't like lamb. Used two beef shanks and one porterhouse steak, 2 carrots sliced and 2 stalks of celery sliced and one cubed Idaho potato instead of anything canned. Didn't have cardamom so put in a 1/2 tsp of fennel seed, cumin and turmeric. I added garlic slivers. Browned the meat with two cloves of garlic, slivered, and then followed the steps of the recipe. But when it came time to put the vegies in I added 2 cups of beef broth (better than buillion and water), a bay leaf bc it was beef based and beef shanks are much bigger than lamb shanks. If I were to change anything from my modifications it would be 1 cup of beef broth. Otherwise it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
What I cooked by following this recipe literally was disappointing, although my wife liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
We enjoyed this although it was a bit greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Made this with a cubed pot roast (as I am the only lamb fan in the family) and it was well received. I also subbed yogurt for the sour cream as it breaks down tough cuts very nicely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This was really tasty, and I loved making it in a crock pot because I could just leave it overnight and it was ready to go! The sauce was slightly sweet and tangy, which was slightly surprising, but the tangy with the savoury meat was a good combination. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Does this really take 8 hours on HIGH? That's about twice as long as most recipes for lamb shanks, isn't it? Was this an error and it should be 8 hours on LOW? Hope so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very tender meat and savory sauce. I am sensitive to all milk products so I used non-dairy 'sour cream.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
What a disappointment!!! Not even close to being an "Indian" dish. Turned into a big pot of grease. I can't believe the reviews. The flavors weren't enough for this much lamb. Also, why use canned carrots and potatoes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I altered the recipe alot! I added 1 tsp chopped chillies, 1 tbsp of garam masala, an extra tin of tomatoes, fresh cherry tomatoes & I left out the carrots and mushrooms ( I just couldn't add them to a rogan josh!) I don't have a slow cooker so I browned the lamb shank & then added the sauce & veg - simmered it for 4 hours & the meat fell off the bone. I kept the potatoes large and it took this length of time to cook them perfectly. We enjoyed it with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
this was very good, nothing at all like the rogan josh you get at an indian restraunt but the sauce was incredible... i used lamb steaks instead of shanks because i didnt have any shanks and the meat itself wasnt that great but thats definitely not because of the recipe.. it was just full of fat and bones... next time i will use either lamb shanks or a big lump of beef.... definitely making this again... great flavor and it smells incredible when its cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States