Rocky Road Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I used non-fat sweetened condensed milk and half and half instead of the heavy and light cream. Excellent!!...and that's coming from someone who's favorite ice cream is Baskin Robbins Rocky Road!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
We love this ice cream. Since getting my ice cream maker last Christmas, I've discovered that we prefer ice cream made without eggs over the kind you make with eggs (more of a "custard"). The kind without eggs taste like Bryer's ice cream. This is, actually, better than Bryer's! I use chocolate covered almonds (like in Bryer's rocky road) in place of the pecans. An excellent chocolate ice cream by itself (with out nuts and marshmallows) and can be used as the base of any chocolate based ice cream. Try it, you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Great Taste. I tried the marshmallow crème like someone else on here had suggested and it didn't work well. It stayed in one big hunk instead of swirling throughout the ice cream. Next time we will use mini-marshmallows. We used half and half instead of heavy cream to cut out some of the fat. Made the ice cream a thinner consistency, but after freezing it hardened up and tasted great. This recipe also makes a perfect amount of ice cream. I used my Kitchen aid ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I LOVE this recipe!!! I make it about 3 times a month, more if I have company. I replaced the heavy cream and light cream with fat free half and half, and the condensed milk with the fat free version. This makes a great ice cream base. I make mint chocolate chip (just the half and half, sweetened condensed milk, 1/2 tsp peppermint extract & shredded dark chocolate), chocolate peanut butter, chocolate chip cookie dough (using the cookie dough for ice cream (eggless) recipe from this site), and birthday cake flavor (by adding about 1c. white cake mix, dry, and gradually stirring in the hot condensed milk, then add in the half and half and vanilla). This recipe has so many possibilities! So easy to adapt to delightful guiltless fat free/ low fat ice cream. Perfect egg free ice cream, THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
After a rocky start (no pun intended), the way this turned out was a pleasant and lucky surprise! As this was churning, it just didn't want to set up as it should and I thought I might be making a trip to the grocery store for the dessert I needed for dinner guests I was having tonight. Even tho' it wasn't nearly as firm or frozen as it should have been, I went ahead and added the pecans and marshmallows anyway, crossed my fingers and hoped for the best. I have no idea why, but several hours in the freezer later, it turned out just fine - smooth, rich and delicious with perfectly balanced chocolate flavor and level of sweetness. I served this in chocolate shells with a drizzle of chocolate syrup and an extra scatter of mini marshmallows and pecans. It was beautiful. And my guests were pleased. (I'll bet one would even have licked her plate if no one was looking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I love rocky road ice cream but it is very hard to find in the grocery stores here in Toronto. I was a bit concerned with some of the reviews saying that this was not too chocolately but it turned out PERFECT. This is a great recipe. I adjusted the recipe to make 8 servings and used macadamia nuts instead of pecans because I didn't have any pecans or almonds in the house. I was a bit worried about heating the condensed milk and cocoa powder because it wasn't doing much on low heat but it turned out great. I added chocolate chips halfway through and the nuts and marshmallows closer to the end. I think I will put all the "bits" at the very end next time because I like chewy marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Brilliant! For an American who is missing Rocky Road ice cream in a country that doesn't do Rocky Road, I LOVED IT! It is soooooooo rich and it was perfect. WONDERFUL chocolate flavor. I was hugely impressed! Not cheap for us to make however but well worth it. We don't have light cream in this country so I used milk and butter instead. I may try subsituting with evoporated milk in place of the heavy cream next time too. But definitely a keeper and it made my first time enjoyable and I look forward to making it again. Now should I share with my family????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANLAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This ice cream is FANTASTIC! It was my very first attempt at making homemade ice cream, and I decided to try it because my husband loves rocky road. I followed the recipe exactly, and the end result is so creamy and yummy, it's amazing. I'd say it's on par with anything you can get in the store (think Edy's, Breyers, etc). I bought a package of chopped pecans, and also put in 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips. I have to say it again, it's SO GOOD, this isn't going to last long in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Wonderful!!! This is a great recipe and so easy!!! I used whole milk in place of the light cream and it still turned out very creamy and rich. A great texture! I also used toasted sliced almonds instead of pecans and it was truely wonderful. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOMELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
excellent flavor was disappointed it had to sit in the freezer overnight to set up right, could not have any right out of the ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States