Rocky Road Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
This was really excellent. The marshmallows tend to float to the top of the mixture so wait till it sets a little then stir them in twards the end of the freezing cycle. Yuuummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
This is the BEST chocolate ice cream recipe!! I like the fact that there are no raw eggs to worry about. Our 4 yr old and 1 yr old love this ice cream. I like to add some of the marshmallows to the hot milk/cocoa mix and let them melt for extra creaminess. Also, I substitute fat free evaporated milk for the heavy cream to lessen the fat/calorie content and it is still incredible:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
I had some trouble with this and ended up starting over and adapting my own recipe. I heated the condensed milk and cocoa on low, but it was too thick and did not mix smoothly with the heavy cream. The cream ended up with clumps of this cocoa mixture that I could not get smoothed out. I discarded everything and made up my own recipe - leaving the condensed milk out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
This was very creamy and tasted pretty good however if you are looking for an ice cream with a strong chocolate taste, this isn't it. Other than that, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This was yummy! I added 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips, and for the cream used about 1/2 table cream and 1/2 low fat evaporated milk. I got rave reviews from my dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Liked this because the chocolate wasn't overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I love rocky road ice cream but it is very hard to find in the grocery stores here in Toronto. I was a bit concerned with some of the reviews saying that this was not too chocolately but it turned out PERFECT. This is a great recipe. I adjusted the recipe to make 8 servings and used macadamia nuts instead of pecans because I didn't have any pecans or almonds in the house. I was a bit worried about heating the condensed milk and cocoa powder because it wasn't doing much on low heat but it turned out great. I added chocolate chips halfway through and the nuts and marshmallows closer to the end. I think I will put all the "bits" at the very end next time because I like chewy marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
I can't believe this has been rated with only 4 stars. it is the perfect consistancy, and the chocolate is sooorich and creamy. You have GOT to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This is such a delicious ice cream!! I don't know why it is only rated at 4 stars. Maybe some mistakes happened or maybe it just wasn't what others expected, but I thought it was absolutely fabulous!! Very creamy and had lots of chocolate flavor! The marshmallows were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
I totally agree! I don't know why this is only 4 stars! I loved it and it came out perfect! I think it would make a great Chocolate Ice Cream if you just leave out the marshmallows and the nuts. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States