Rocky Road Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Wonderful reciepe!! My son is allergic to nuts to I put in chopped up brownies instead. Along with the marshmallow it's outstanding!! Also I used half vanilla and half imitation almond extract to help bring out the chocolate flavor. Definitely will make again!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I love rocky road ice cream but it is very hard to find in the grocery stores here in Toronto. I was a bit concerned with some of the reviews saying that this was not too chocolately but it turned out PERFECT. This is a great recipe. I adjusted the recipe to make 8 servings and used macadamia nuts instead of pecans because I didn't have any pecans or almonds in the house. I was a bit worried about heating the condensed milk and cocoa powder because it wasn't doing much on low heat but it turned out great. I added chocolate chips halfway through and the nuts and marshmallows closer to the end. I think I will put all the "bits" at the very end next time because I like chewy marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
This was great ice cream! I thought it was the perfect amount of chocolate, I also put in some white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by demanette3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concordia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Nolensville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
5+ for this one ... unbelievable! I never thought I could make such good ice cream and so easily. I have never been successful in making ice cream until this recipe - delicious - thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
This is as good as or better than any store-bought or parlor-dipped Rocky Road you will ever buy. It is so richly chocolately, it's just heavenly. I added semi-sweet chocolate chunks with the nuts and marshmallows - I liked the extra texture/crunch. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
I can't believe this has been rated with only 4 stars. it is the perfect consistancy, and the chocolate is sooorich and creamy. You have GOT to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This is such a delicious ice cream!! I don't know why it is only rated at 4 stars. Maybe some mistakes happened or maybe it just wasn't what others expected, but I thought it was absolutely fabulous!! Very creamy and had lots of chocolate flavor! The marshmallows were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
I totally agree! I don't know why this is only 4 stars! I loved it and it came out perfect! I think it would make a great Chocolate Ice Cream if you just leave out the marshmallows and the nuts. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This is the best ice cream I have ever made, and my whole family agrees!! At first, I thought I may have chopped the Pecans too fine, but when we tasted it, there were crunchy little pecans in every bite, it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This was my first go at making ice cream with my new ice cream maker. It turned out fabulous - really yummy! I didn't add the nuts but it was still wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States