Rocky Road Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
DELICIOUS!! I completely recommend this recipe. I read thru a few reviews before & changed/added 2 things: instead of heavy/light cream I used 3c of half & half, and I also added in some chocolate chips. All those who said this recipe was as good as something you get in the store, hit it head on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Very good and easy recipe. My first homemade ice cream and I was really surprised by the smooth and creamy texture. I wasn't sure if I should put the marshmallows, but it was good. Very rich ice cream but if you want a real treat, that's what you need! A little disappointment, I had to leave it in the freezer all night to get it set right... But the wait was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
YUM! so good and creamy. Had to use all half and half bec. that's what I had on hand but still just as good. Thanks for a fabulous recipe!! Have made this 3 times now and plan on making many more! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This recipe truly deserves more then 5 stars! It is perfect! I couldn't believe just how great this came out -- an egg-less ice cream that is easy to make, creamy, silky, chocolaty and oh, so delicious!! The base is perfect for tons of variations of toppings. I will definitely try the vanilla version next, by simply omitting the cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is fantastic, and the base ice cream is an excellent chocolate base. I cut the sweetened condensed milk to fat free and replaced the 3 cups of cream with 2 cups half and half, 1 cup skim milk. Texture and flavor are still great. Variation: instead of the nuts and marshmallows, I added 12 tablespoons of malt powder to the base and then 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips about 10 minutes before the end of churning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This recipe was absolutely fantastic. The only downside was that we had to wait a few hours for the ice cream to harden up, but that was to be expected. The chocolate ice cream base was excellent by itself and I plan on using it for other ice cream recipes. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ettare

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I'm not a huge fan of chocolate ice cream, but the other folks in the family are. I followed this exactly and it taste like frozen hot chocolate. SO GOOD! This one is a keeper thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
So smooth and so easy. The ice cream base is excellent as is, better than a lot of chocolate ice cream recipes I've tried (add some cinnamon to it for a nice treat). It also freezes well and stays creamy...no ice crystals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
So good, creamy and smooth. I leave out the nuts (not a nut fan) and add some mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I made this for a BBQ and my friends were raving! They asked me four times if I "really" made this myself. One guest ate three cones of this glorious concoction! It was GONE in a marshmallowy flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States