Rocky Road Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I had a very hard time getting the chocolate to "drizzle"....I have done that before, yet today, it wasn't happening....The caramel was fine, dipped the apples fine, rolled them in the almonds instead of pecans and marshmellos....I didn't like how the marshmellos weren't sticking to the caramel very well....I will probably do this again, but not today;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This recipe needs to be taken down and replaced with one of the caramel recipes the other members replaced. If you don't read the comments first you won't find out that this will result in a complete disaster of caramel pooled at the bottom of your apple, no matter how long you chill it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I had my son make these with explicit instructions to pop the apples in boiling water to remove wax as pr previous reviews. Well, he forgot this step and they were an absolute disaster with the caramel in a giant puddle underneath the apples. So I scrubbed off the caramel and started again. I dipped the apples in boiling water for ten seconds and dried them well. Then I placed them in the freezer so they were chilled. I remade the caramel using the chewy caramel recipe from this site [easier than all that unwrapping]. I made sure the temperature was around 200 when I dipped the apples. They could not have been more perfect and everyone loved them. Moral of the story, read the reviews before you make a new recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
These apples were fantastic!!! I followed the suggestion of others and placed the apples in boiling water for 30 seconds or so, then wiped off the wax, then put them in the fridge to cool. The caramel stayed on perfectly! The toppings were a bit heavy and slid though, so I would try to "mush" them into the caramel a bit more for next time rather than simply rolling to get the toppings to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
this did not work. I warn you, DO NOT MIX THE PECANS WITH THE MARSHMELLOWS. The marshmellows melted and when I rolled the apples in the mixture, it just took all the carmel of... this is really embarrassing, my apples are sitting on a tray, all the toppings sliding off and just little traces of carmel on the apples. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James_White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msr
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I haven't eaten them yet but they look great. Let me make a suggestion, please. Having never made caramel apples before, I didn't realize this, but I'm glad I learned and can share with others. When you drop the apples in the boiling water ever so briefly, you really have to dry them immediately. Here is what happened to me. I dropped an apple at a time into the boiling water. Then I pulled each one out and let it sit on the towel. However, by the time I went to dry all 6 (after all were dipped) the wax was still there. So I put them all back in and made the mistake of leaving them in too long. The boiling water changed the color and consistency. It started the cooking process very quickly. Be careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I made these. They were to die for.It came out excellent.Caramel I melted in a regular pot very slowly and to keep the caramel in place I boiled hot water in pot and just dipped my apples in there for a few seconds to remove the wax build up.Making sure I dried them off with paper towel. First time making these fancy apples everybody loved them. Will be making them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I made these for my kids for Valentines Day, and they loved them. What I did differently was use a double boiler to melt the caramel, which may be a bit quicker, with milk instead of water. I also used organic apples, they don't have the wax on them so the caramel does not slide off, also when drizzling the chocolate on them, use a teaspoon and shake it back and forth a bit fast over the apples, so the choc. will kind of string off onto them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
PLEASE NOTE! The caramel slides down the apple because it is coated in wax. You need to dip the apple into a pan of boiled water for 10 seconds or so and then wipe the wax off with a paper towel. You may notice some of the white wax while you are wiping. If you fail to do this, the caramel will indeed slide off. If you want to drizzle chocolate on these, I suggest getting a plastic Wilton candymaking bottle, they are usually only $1-$2. Melt the chocolate in the bottle or put the already melted chocolate into it and you will have more control of the chocolate. Good recipe, but I prefer mine with different coatings/toppings. I hope this helps. The caramel sliding off is not the recipes fault, so I don't think it is fair to rate this recipe according to that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States